From confusion to clarity- simple Tips to success on Upwork.( I am Top-Rated :) )

Afshan Ibrahim
2 min readOct 15, 2023

--

After 10 months of freelancing, I gave myself a 10-day vacation.

In my previous article, if I made freelancing look like hunky dory, butterflies, and cotton candy- then I apologize. I also do not intend to say “Oh, freelancing is so much better than 9–5” because it completely depends on what one prefers.

Getting started on freelancing is difficult and staying consistent is even harder. what I am saying is freelancing also comes with challenges, of course.

If you want to know what I did to overcome these difficult stages keep reading.

Fortunately, my freelancing journey began on a positive note when I secured my first client within a week on Upwork for a straightforward Excel task. The client was kind enough to give me feedback, a chance, and more work. For the next 3 months, I only got 2 responses and zero jobs.

The reality is that Upwork, one of the most popular freelancing platforms, has around 18 million freelancers, making it a highly competitive space. As a newcomer, you’re likely to encounter several challenges:

  1. Overwhelm: The sheer number of freelancers and job listings can be overwhelming.
  2. Difficulty in Landing Jobs: It’s tough to stand out and secure your first job.
  3. Moments of Desperation: Rejections and inactivity can lead to feelings of hopelessness. (happened to me)

These feelings are entirely normal, and I have been there. The key to success is not to give up, but to follow these steps:

  • Build Confidence: Trust in the fact that freelancing is a demanding journey for most of us, so you’re not alone in facing these challenges.
  • Manage Connects: If you manage to secure a job while still having free connects, that’s fantastic. Use those earnings to apply for more opportunities. If not, be prepared to invest a few dollars (around 20) monthly to purchase more connects
  • Dealing with Despair: It’s inevitable to encounter moments of despair. When you do, remember to:
  1. Take a deep breath.
  2. Step away from Upwork to return with a fresh perspective the next day.
  3. Study top-rated profiles in your niche to learn how they’ve crafted their bios, acquired certifications, and showcased their work (without copying).
  4. Seek advice from your network for sample proposals and insights.

Follow these straightforward steps for a month, you’ll significantly increase your chances of securing work. Good luck.

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/afshanibrav/e/178905 Here are few tips for improve your Upwork profile

--

--

Afshan Ibrahim

Wrtting bits of what I learn, in my professional life. Previously, a corporate manager and Currently, a freelancer .