My Quick Reference Guide to Disciplining Your Boys In This Day and Age

Andrew Gaudian
3 min readJun 20, 2016

Being a father is tough, but it’s also an amazing experience. There are times when you just simply can’t get enough of them and times when you literally want to kill them. Let’s not sugarcoat it okay? I mean literally kill them, as in strangle them, or suffocate them with a pillow. I’m going to take a leap of faith here and say that most, if not all parents I know, have actually pictured killing their kids in their heads…because those are all of the right buttons they push. It’s a very specific sequence that those buttons need to be pushed in order to create that image, but every now and again, they succeed. So here’s my quick reference guide to being a father today and maintaining control in order not to kill them…

  1. If they act up, take away their toys.
  2. If they continue to act up, take away their electronics.
  3. If they still continue, sit down and talk to them calmly, about how you’re disappointed in their behavior.
  4. If that doesn’t work, smack them upside the head.
  5. If that doesn’t work, pull down their pants and whoop their ass.
  6. If they wander off in public, sneak up behind them, pick them up, cover their face and start run off with them like you were a kidnapper…I promise you, this will put the fear of God in them and they will never wander again.
  7. If they talk back to Mom, or call her names, skip taking away the toys and electronics and go straight to the smacking upside the head.
  8. If they hit Mom, hit them back and put them straight to bed without food, snacks, or drinks.
  9. If they talk back to you, or call you names, give them the crazy look.
  10. If they’re constantly aggressive, put them in martial arts and hone their skills.

Those are my simple disciplinary tactics as a father. It’s easy because there’s no bullshit. I don’t beat my kid, but I also don’t waste my time with positive vs negative reinforcement mumbo jumbo, I just teach my son respect, the way I learned respect. Mind your manners or your get punished, period. I know I’m probably going to get a lot of flack for this, but it’s the way I was raised and I still believe that a lot of the traditional disciplinary actions work and I think a lot of people have become…soft.

They’re not made of glass, so stop acting like they are. I see a lot of people complaining about millennials and their sense of entitlement, well maybe we should took a look at the way we discipline (or don’t discipline) our kids huh? Love them, with all your heart, but don’t coddle them all their lives. Haven’t you all seen Finding Nemo?!?!?! Come on…

--

--

Andrew Gaudian

I’m an entrepreneur, family man, musician, and geek.