It’s the Remix

Exploratory Making: Exploration 5

Amber Chen
2 min readAug 9, 2023

For Creative Coding, I made a p5 sketch that created random tree patterns to resemble the neatness of the trees and the way the light shines through the leaves in Brooklyn Commons.

I really disliked the way my sketch looked and felt that this was the perfect opportunity to rethink it. For my remix, I decided to switch up the sense, and make it audio focused. I layered sounds that I’ve heard walking through Brooklyn Commons with sounds that add to the feeling of sitting in the plaza and create that ambiance. I even added honking noises to make sure people know it’s New York!

I tried adding the sound of people talking, with pan, so it sounds as though they’re walking by. It was hard to manipulate that audio file though, so it’ll take some more tweaking. Similarly, I wanted to pan the sound of a bicycle cruising by, but I was probably at the 2 hour mark at this point. Still, I wanted to add some kind of very subtle visual. I drew a picture with a dark background and a subtle yellow gradient in the center to resemble the sun shining through your eyelids, when your eyes are closed in basking. Ideally, I would have liked to code this gradient so it can be dynamic –maybe to resemble a head turn or even be a subtle audio visualizer.

Learning about content & form and prioritization through exploratory making have helped me immensely. But beyond these concepts behind process and making, I’ve found that I’m capable of exploring, setting constraints, playing… whatever I need to spur my creative flow.

I have yet to screen record it with the audio but my sketch is here!

--

--