Leveraging Immigrant Mindset -Talent in B2B Software

Ageller
2 min readMar 13, 2024

In my experience hiring technical talent for B2B software, I tend to prefer hiring immigrants or those who share what I consider to be an immigrant-like mentality. Having immigrated myself, I deeply resonate with folks who have arrived with little and are determined to prove themselves. Though I know there’s more to it, this bias works for me. Here’s why:

  1. Having a chip on one’s shoulder can be a secret weapon: People with something to prove, facing high stakes in failure, often have a unique drive akin to fight or flight. While this drive isn’t always “emotionally healthy”, it helps them surpass their peers that are driven by solely an “abundance” mindset. That said, as a manager, I do help these individuals nurture abundance to complement the fight or flight. The true secret lies in their capacity to harness both energies and channel the fight-or-flight when needed.
  2. First principles: I believe immigrants naturally question things more and have the ability to swiftly rebuild their frameworks. They’ve had to reconsider the meaning of value, communication norms, and everything else differing from their homeland. This nurtures a capacity for reasoning beyond blindly accepting things at face value.
  3. Comparison: Immigrants often measure success by comparing themselves to others, which makes them good at competing but less flexible in creative thinking. As a manager, I help them embrace different paths to success, not just by outdoing others. Yet, harnessing their competitive drive can push them to win in new ways.
  4. Less complaining: Most immigrants come to the US believing in the value of hard work and honesty. I firmly stand by this belief. While others complain about the US, many immigrants embrace American exceptionalism and appreciate living here with these values. They have often experienced the alternative.
  5. Better education system in their homeland: I remember my grandfather scoffing at the math taught in the US compared to his home country. Education levels tend to be higher elsewhere. This point doesn’t require much overthinking ;)

As a manager, I focus on nurturing their natural traits to help them beat the competition. Immigrant or immigrant-like individuals often possess a strong drive and ultra-competitiveness, which when channeled appropriately can turn them into absolute killers.

I know instead of making sweeping generalizations, I should focus on specific qualities in candidates, such as grit, competitiveness, and a strong foundational core. But in my early days, I often prioritize immigrants because my anecdotal experience has shown they are more likely to get results.

--

--