The “Cat-Fish Bot”?

Lainey C.
2 min readMay 27, 2022

Are you getting targeted by these?

actual screenshot from Author’s TikTok account

I received a notification that this “person” is following me and has sent me a DM (direct message) on TikTok.

While meeting new people online is fun and interesting, I find cat-fishers to be totally annoying. My TikTok account is only focused on my cats and I am being cat-fished! This is somewhat humorous and a bit ironic.

actual screenshot of messages from Author’s TikTok account

Many questions came to mind after reading the message. Is this even a real person? Do “bots” make grammatical errors to seem like a real person? Did this lady’s photo get stolen to use as a cat fish scam? Apparently “Ivy” has 185 followers, does this mean the scammer got away with tricking 185 victims? Maybe it should read as a victim count instead of “followers” in this case!

Thankfully my TikTok photo is just one of my cats, but I would be infuriated if my personal photo was taken and re-used for cat fishing purposes. In the end I did not reply to “Ivy” to tell her that I am not a “gentleman” and she should give up her efforts of fishing.

Do you have a cat fish story to share? Let me know in the comments!

--

--

Lainey C.

Cat parent that’s enthusiastic about learning and sharing life's experiences through stories. Interested in travel, pets, and finance, etc.