My Journey through Age of Empires 2 and Community Contributions

GregStein
3 min readJul 10, 2023

--

My name is GregStein, and I am a freelance web/software developer and an avid player of Age of Empires 2, owner of Age of Notes, hailing from Morocco. My journey with this game began back in 2002 when I first discovered its captivating campaigns mode, often teaming up with my brother for epic gaming sessions. Little did I know that this would mark the beginning of a lifelong passion.

Staying up late playing Age of Empires 2

In 2014, I stumbled upon the vibrant online community for Age of Empires 2 on Voobly. This discovery opened up a whole new world of possibilities, as I started to immerse myself in the competitive scene of the game. Since then, I have been periodically participating in tournaments and engaging with fellow players who share the same enthusiasm for this timeless strategy game.

Throughout my journey, I have been fortunate to contribute to the Age of Empires 2 community, striving to make a positive impact and enhance the gaming experience for fellow players. One of the ways I’ve done this is through the release of various tools and guides aimed at assisting players and improving their gameplay. I take pride in my technical knowledge and have actively shared it with others, helping to troubleshoot issues and provide support on platforms such as AoEZone, Reddit, Voobly, and Steam.

As a content creator on YouTube, I have sought to share my insights and experiences with the wider Age of Empires 2 community. Through my real-life YouTube series, I’ve aimed to bridge the gap between virtual and tangible, bringing the game to life beyond the screen.

Some of the notable contributions I’ve made to the community include the development of software tools designed to streamline and enhance the gaming experience. For instance, AoE2Tools has been instrumental in facilitating the smooth transition of players from the AoE2 HD platform to Voobly. Additionally, I created VPNSTEIN, a fix that addresses fast proxy issues on Voobly. Moreover, my DE Replays Manager allows players to downgrade and manage Age of Empires 2 Definitive Edition replays, while Sensei DE optimizes performance for low-end machines, ensuring that players with less powerful setups can still enjoy the game to its fullest.

While I am humbled by the recognition I’ve received for my troubleshooting abilities, such as helping players navigate technical difficulties in Age of Empires 2, my focus has always been on fostering a supportive and thriving community. I believe that together, we can explore and refine strategies, uncover hidden gems, and ultimately forge lasting connections through our shared love for this remarkable game.

My Secret 5 Militias Drush Build Order To Escape Low ELO

Among my gameplay achievements, the 5 Militias Drush strategy has garnered attention, showcasing my strategic thinking and ability to execute decisive early-game maneuvers. However, I view these accomplishments not as personal accolades but as opportunities to inspire and engage fellow players in friendly competition and mutual growth.

As my journey continues within the Age of Empires 2 community, I remain committed to sharing my knowledge, providing technical assistance, and fostering a vibrant and inclusive environment for players to come together, learn, and have fun. Age of Empires 2 has brought us all together, transcending borders and time, and I am honored to be a part of this incredible community.

--

--