Celebrate revisiting.

Anne Giebel
2 min readJun 11, 2018

--

As an undergraduate, I minored in creative writing. I took classes in nonfiction, fiction, poetry and narrative essays, all of which I loved. I remember sitting in my classes thinking how lucky I was to get college credits for talking about and practicing writing. I recall sitting in my dorm, reviewing edits from a peer on a story I’d written. Even then, I was aware of how grateful such exposure should make a person feel.

While those structured classes are not part of my weeks anymore, I try to write as much as I can so that I don’t lose everything that I learned those years.

I have to say though, poetry, my favorite form of writing, has been a struggle to keep up with the last year. I don’t avoid it; in fact, I read and buy other people’s poetry all of the time. I’ve acquired two new poetry books in the last month and save beautiful poems that I read on Pinterest almost nightly.

But writing. Writing poetry has proved to be most difficult for me.

If you’ve been following my blogs weekly (thank you all who have reached out), you know where this post is going. Yes, I made myself write some poems this week.

BUT.

They were absolute garbage! I can’t even share one part of a poem in this week’s post. They were that bad. Here’s what I can share:

It’s okay to fall out of practice with things that formerly brought us fulfillment. Heck, some things may never serve us again. But for if we still find ourselves thinking about these passions again and again,wondering at their once flawless presence in our lives, it can be fun to play around with them and see what we still remember, regardless of outcome.

Revisit old passion. Practice former talents. Celebrate what you remember.

-AGP

--

--

Anne Giebel

Photo by photo, week by week. @annegiebelphotography