A Revelation from Ground Control to Major Tom

Aghosh Babu
1 min readNov 28, 2017

--

Image Source: Tala Ahmed’s YouTube Channel

I’ve listened to David Bowie’s “Space Oddity (1972)” several hundred times. There is a line in it that goes like this:

This is Ground Control to Major Tom
You’ve really made the grade
And the papers want to know whose shirts you wear

I had always thought that this was just about Vanity. The general public caring more about the protagonist's fashion choices than his accomplishments. An argument could be made that it is what the artist intended.

However, it just hit me, people are not necessarily that vain, the newspapers and publications aren’t either. They just want to make it about products so they can sell advertisements.

You’d think this revelation somehow came to me while I was listening to the song. No, it came to me while I was trying to make someone’s accomplishment about a product that I represent so I can sell more.

--

--