IMPRESSIONS (II) — The Pompous Pomp of George Benson’s Breezing

Olúmúyìwá Mòńjọláolúwa
4 min readMay 20, 2023

--

George Benson playing 'Breezing' at Belfast in 2000

The first instrumental song that talked to me was Breezing. It became the inaugural piece that, despite lacking a human voice, retained a captivating essence akin to a living entity in my perception. But it was neither the one recorded by the Hungarian jazz guitarist Gábor Szabó nor was it the five minutes forty seconds cover by George Benson on his eponymous album released in 1976.

Actually, it was his live performance at Waterfront Hall Belfast, Ireland 23 years ago. In the solitude of my room, I vividly recall watching the clip for what I believe must have been the hundredth time, when suddenly, I found myself entranced for a fleeting moment. Perhaps it was the sheer joy exuding from George’s demeanor, the graceful sway of his movements during that performance, or the way his smiles harmoniously resonated with the backdrop of fellow musicians, all of which transported me to an elevated realm beyond ordinary existence. But for that one second, I stopped seeing George and saw the song. Breezin. I saw and heard it. And it saw me.

Simply, Breezin is a living song of pride and joy. It’s the tonal personality of a human essence full of gladness; elevated above the basal worries and concerns of the ephemeral and bent on enjoying the present. Breezin considers itself too high and lofty to interact with mortal burdens but the journey, as you will find out, wasn’t a walk in the park.

Bing AI’s image of George Benson playing Live. Obviously it got it wrong.

The song starts with an unmistakable riff that ushers you into the sound and sights of its vista. Pay attention to how the riff is divided into two parts — a rushed play of notes and a deliberate and measured execution of the same before the strings came in. It sounds to me like a call and response between the instruments where Breezin demands the percussion to confirm its pageantry and excellence for you, the audience. This is immediately followed by a groovy riff which is my favorite part of the song. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, you can hear it start at 1:00 and ends at 1:20.

Nonetheless, the pinnacle of beauty in all the renditions of this song by George Benson lies within the solos. Typically, a solo entails an improvised or composed passage where a musician demonstrates their virtuosity and creativity. However, George’s solo transcends those expectations, resembling a meticulously crafted statement rather than a mere flurry of notes on the guitar’s fret-board. It was during this solo that lasted from 1:41 to 3:06 that I understood the beauty of the song.

Breezin’s pride didn’t originate from the exaggerated depths of hubris. It wasn’t borne out of an inflated sense of self, an excessive sense of self admiration or grandiosity, arrogance or conceit. The song’s being was fashioned in warfare, painful losses and even more painful victories. Its true essence was unveiled upon the summit of enlightenment, where the highest revelation of ultimate meaning and purpose emerges from the depths of insignificance, transcending all notions of pride and dissolving every trace of arrogance. If Breezing were human, his smile wouldn’t be a mindless fold of the lips and cheeks. No! Rather, it will be the expression of an internal posture of wisdom and insight. His regalia and grandeur won’t be vain garments of narcissistic royalty, but rather medals of triumph adorned from victories within. From 2:36 to 2:46, what I heard wasn’t just mere notes on the guitar but the exhalations of a soul on the zenith of his own Everest. He hasn’t only seen it all. He has become it all. Weightless and Infinite, he breezes through life solid’s that would have stopped others, yet he remains unyielding, resolute, inscrutable, and untraceable like the presence of an apparition.

I can’t recollect the first time I encountered Breezin but when I did, it occurred to me that I used to hear it on the radio when I was a little boy. It was used to fill the breaks between news reports and a background song for many radio programs. As a young child, I had no knowledge of instrumental songs or the vast realm of jazz, guitar, and music. However, the captivating melody of this particular tune had been imprinted deeply in my mind. It is truly serendipitous that, after two decades, while searching for guitar pieces to learn, I rediscovered the very same song that had left an indelible mark on me during my childhood.

One of my aspirations is to share the stage with the legendary George Benson, accompanied by a GB10 or any of his esteemed signature guitar models. It will be a honour. A Breezin Honor.

--

--