Impressions IX — We are here to say Goodbyes

Olúmúyìwá Mòńjọláolúwa
3 min readNov 17, 2023

--

Photo by Sandy Millar on Unsplash

Why do people want an afterlife?

Why do they want another life after this one? I’m aware of the desires for retribution (as if the tri-bu-la-tion is not enough so we need a re-)

I am also aware of the desire to be reunited with loved ones. Love in the embrace of eternity and endlessness. Irresistible.

I don’t want an afterlife though. I am satisfied with this one. Lately I have come to see Life as an experience. It’s a privilege. A gift. An opportunity to feel. It can’t be the best gift if it’s not all we have.

People who look for another life after this often don’t fully appreciate and embrace the life they presently possess. It’s like hurrying through a meal because you can’t wait to have another. Why don’t you savor the current one? It may be all you have. It may be all there is.

If you see this lifetime as the only opportunity to experience being something or someone, if after our demise we will be stepping into a void of unawareness, you will see that every day, every minute, every second where you interface, meet, and encounter an Other is a rare unrepeatable moment. It’s gone. It can’t be retrieved.

It makes me think, you know. Life is a death sentence. A protracted one. Life is also series of goodbyes. In fact, that’s all we are here to do. To say our goodbyes. Everyday. Every opportunity to love, to feel, to be kind, to be affectionate, to hate, to deny, to be cruel, every air we breathe, every moment we stand in, is a tiny goodbye to that exact moment.

We enter Life with a wail and, depending on your exit package, may leave in the same. Or a sigh. A scream. An exhalation. We will expire. One day. And even to that that we shall say our goodbyes.

If an afterlife exists I want no part of it. I just want to sleep. Lose myself in the oblivion. I want to be one with the abyss within.

This Life? This moment? It’s meant to be lived. It’s meant to be indulged. Deeply. Unfettered. Before my Mortality deletes, I hope that I’ll unlock every gates in me to allow the flood of all highs and lows to be deeply felt and lived. I will be happy. I will be wild. Even if my lot is sadness and pain, and I must find my demise in the cruel hands of an Other, that, I shall deeply feel too.

And within the moment to the final one, I’ll smile and my Goodbye.

The motions of this impression were assisted by the experience of this song that played at the end of the beautiful TV show — Mr.Robot. You can find the song here

A beautiful show

--

--