Naked and Falling in Love

Agnes Morelos
4 min readAug 28, 2015

--

Humans are absolutely incredible. We have a way of shaking up the world through our thoughts, ideas, and actions whether or not we are aware of it. Our bodies are strong, minds full of wisdom, and hearts full of passion. There’s something so powerful about all of this. Even though we have the capacity to alter the world in a positive manner, many of us have undetermined or failed aspirations, regrets, and feelings of uncertainty and longing. We don’t feel as if we are enough. But within these moments of confusion and anxiety, we present to the world our nakedness. And within this nakedness, there is a chance to redefine who we are and show the world what we are made of.

Naked

When we see the word naked, we think of beings without clothing. We perceive the images of bodies exposed and out in the open. But truthfully, it’s so much more than the dictionary definition associated with the word. Being naked is the vulnerability we share when we bare our minds, hearts, and souls to everyone we come in contact with. We can even call it “experiencing humanity in its purest form.” There’s something so terrifying about this, yet so intriguing. We have this opportunity to create a bond that allows for growth, acceptance, and alternate perspectives. Our nakedness shows that we are willing to push limits in order to alter the world in the ways we feel comfortable.

From personal experience, I have witnessed a lot of this vulnerability at large gatherings such as weddings, graduations, parties, and most recently funerals. Many look at death as a terrifying event. “Where do we go when we die? Who will I spend my time with in the afterlife? How do I prepare myself for death?” There’s so much apprehension wrapped up in entering the unknown. For the multiple funerals I’ve experienced this past year, I’ve heard a multitude of stories shared about strength, triumph, faith, determination, and compassion from all of the loved ones of the deceased individuals.

And within those moments, this question crossed my mind: How do I prepare for something that is a natural part of the circle of life even though I have no idea how or when I am going to pass? I’ve pondered over this question throughout this year and wasn’t really sure how to answer it. But as I look back on the lives of my Lola, Meagan, and Tita Margot, the answer became so clear. The best way to prepare for death?

Spread love.

Falling In Love

Recently, I’ve finished reading Paulo Coehlo’s The Alchemist (which I highly recommend by the way) and I came across this passage:

“And when two such people encounter each other, and their eyes meet, the past and the future become unimportant. There is only that moment, and the incredible certainty that everything under the sun has been written by one hand only. It is the hand that evokes love, and creates a twin soul for every person in the world. Without such love, one’s dreams would have no meaning.”

How beautiful this passage is. The moment when two souls meet and connect in ways that are indescribable.

In our nakedness, our vulnerability, we are given an opportunity to fall in love. Whether it be platonic, romantic, or agape, we need to spread love. In a world with a wide array of ideas, beliefs, appearances, and backgrounds, it can be rather challenging to give even the smallest amount of love when we are in conflict with others. But in all honesty, I think it’s insane how minuscule not only our perception of the world is, but the way in which we are “busy.”

As a college student, I can seriously attest to this. I can understand when I need time alone when my inner introvert kicks in, but I am not “busy” when I’m binge watching Game of Thrones or browsing through Buzzfeed, no matter how good the episode or article may be. “Busy” isn’t really amounting up to anything. It’s only taking away from the time I could be spending with a family member or old friend.

After experiencing so much death this past year, I hope that we are able to give love unconditionally and receive it graciously. I hope that we are able to shut down and put away all technology for even just a few hours to hangout with someone we haven’t talked to in years. It’s important to live in the present, but remember those who have shaped who we are today.

Take a second to take a deep breath to know that you are loved and that you are love. Once you’re done reading this article, call an old friend or family member and let them know how much you appreciate them for what they’ve done and who they are.

Be naked. Be vulnerable. And remember to keep falling in love.

This post is dedicated to Dr. Elenita Perez Morelos, Meagan Elizabeth Smith, and Margot Buenvenida Ryder. Rest in peace.

--

--