Remote Job Board Review

Adam Hawkins
1 min readFeb 14, 2018

--

I wrote that I’m looking for work in my last post. I’ve been browsing the various job boards since then. One stands out above the rest. The others feel like simple aggregators. Here’s where I’m looking:

StackOverflow is my favorite so far. You can apply for jobs directly on the site. If you don’t have a resume, they will send your developer story as a PDF. I find this especially useful since the developer story has more than I’d put on a resume. Plus, maintaining resumes is a bore. You can also ask questions about the job directly on the site. This feature is helpful for people like me who want to filter out red flags before going through the interview process.

WFH, RemoteOK, and WeWorkRemotely are great boards. They (along with StackOverflow Jobs) tend to have similar ads. Also note, that Github Jobs does not have a dedicated remote filter, so you’re left with an unreliable search filter. However, they are just job boards. You’ll have to go through whatever application process the hiring company uses.

I suggest you look at StackOverflow Jobs if you’re looking for new work. Congrats to StackOverflow for making a great product.

--

--