Running Scrum or Kanban Doesn’t Mean You Are Doing Agile

Aaron Fan
9 min readOct 8, 2018

Looking back at the beginning of my web development journey, I have enjoyed programming, and have enjoyed creating everything about UI/UX. However, I have also hated the project managers, I blamed them are ones to make web development ugly, making users and the whole development team sad…

Until I got the chance to join CNNGo (former CNNTravel) as a contract developer, my views have changed completely. That is the first time I came across the concept of Scrum, the whole process is much more organized and makes a lot more sense to a technical person. Then I know that it was Waterfall making web development a nightmare, and of course, I became a Scrum believer since then.

After my CNNGo contract was completed, I joined SCMP, a Hong Kong English media company. I formed a new web development team in this company and applied the Scrum process. In the first few years, my role as a Scrum Master, and I thought I have been doing a good job. I did my best to ensure everybody is following the Scrum rules; training project managers to become proper Product Owner; convincing senior management (leaders) to believe in Scrum, and such.

Unfortunately, it is not as smooth as I expected or would like it to be as we have more and more new projects in the pipeline... It is then I realized there were some problems.

--

--

Aaron Fan

Agile expert with 20+ years in IT, specializing in Scrum and product development. Proven leader of diverse teams, fostering collaboration and productivity.