Spicy Fried Potatoes

Daniyal Ahmed
5 min readJan 7, 2023

--

A tale of mouth watering, tasty potatoes from a lazy mind!

What can you do if you are lazy and still want to pursue some of your hobbies. How to convince yourself to be active when it has become so easy to just relax and scroll all day.

You can either just look at people doing it online or find out something just a little bit out of reach to allow your sluggish self to get up and do something.

Being an expert lazy person, I always do the former. But this time, I decided to get out of the fortress of thoughts and spring into action. It wasn’t easy but it worked. and it proved again that the hardest part of any journey is the first step!

A visual representation of me, being myself sometimes :)

My love of food is as ancient as me and being a Lahori, I am always in search of exotic flavors and tasty recipes.

But cooking and doing it myself has kind of unlocked a new dimension of happiness in me. It is so fun to watch the raw ingredients come to final form. It is like watching a movie in my head when I cook, with all the thoughts sloshing around and becoming concrete, physical stuff through various cooking processes.

So I settled on a seemingly simple dish of potatoes which only took 10 minutes according to the nice lady in a YouTube video. But she was way too conservative in time estimation as it took me 2 hours and some change!

(Link for anyone curious is https://youtu.be/xv8Ts6L8Tl).

Still, I think it was due to me being a novice cook and preparations taking the bulk of time.

The recipe seemed very simple with very few ingredients required and nothing too special.

Spicy Fried Potatoes

Potatoes 250 g
2x eggs
Bread crumbs 100 g
Cheese shreds 50 g
1 tsp of basil/ tukhmbalanga seeds

1 tsp of salt
1/2 tsp of paprika/red chili
1/4 tsp of black pepper
Handful of parsley/dhania

2 tbsp of corn flour

Well I excluded cheese to make it as calorie friendly as possible. I just didn’t want to smash my caloric intake for the day in one snack :)

Preparing ingredients to cook is the actual task in my opinion. It took a lot of steps of buying, washing, peeling, measuring and in my case documenting them too to share with a very special person (You know who you are, and because of you, I am back in this space after 6 long years)

So here was the itinerary of all the ingredients

Potatoes: Washed… Peeled…Diced…Boiled…Mushed. (90 mins.)

Bread Crust: Cut into small pieces…Grinded…. Roasted. (30 mins.)

Basil: Leaves plucked….Washed…Diced. (10 mins.)

Cooking steps

  1. Mixed all the condiments (Salt, chili, pepper), basil and corn flour with potatoes and evenly mashed again.
  2. Break eggs in a small dish
  3. Make small bite size pieces from potato mixture. Lather them with egg and roll them in roasted bread crumbs.
  4. Place in hot vegetable oil and fry for 2 mins.
  5. You are done! Enjoy with sauce of your choice.

Let’s see how it all looked like…

First, the potatoes…

Oh Potato! Why are you so DELICIOUS!!!!

Its now bread’s turn!

Roasting and Toasting the beautiful bread!

Finally Mixing it all up and deep frying!!!

1.2.3…. Aaaand Into the Pan!

The copper colored final result was so tasty and crunchy. YUMM!

Ladies and Gentlemen…. THE SPICY POTATOES…at your service!

My mouth is still watering after remembering the taste although I just ate it a few hours ago!

All things considered, this experience made my evening so beautiful. I am so happy to add another dish in the booklet of my mind. Maybe someday I will make it with my kids! Who knows.

I got reminded again that life is short and it is not worth it to waste a single moment of it being lazy and being angry with anyone. I am thankful to the POTATO for reminding me that :)

--

--