Importance of Counting

Ehtesham Ahmed
3 min readAug 5, 2023

--

Following up from my last journal I am work on things which can help me improve my time utilization. My energy level as per the food intake isn’t high nor my habitual body which never exercise for many years I still have a will and mindset which is atleast for the time being is help me write this journal and upload video of the Quran surah. So what I would like to bring up here is the count of videos I uploaded today. I have uploaded 15 videos of surah al Baqarah which is quite amazing to me as I was really slow before this uploading five surah through the whole where as today even after uploading 15 videos, writing its description and subtitles I felt an enormous amount of time free which I didn’t utilize properly. This have a lot to do with me not having a job and not getting any interview calls. Well through out the day I keep getting this feeling of regret and crying on my past decisions, I even made few videos of it which I didn’t upload as I am gathering strength from Quran and Salah. Yes I don’t even know the surahs for the Namaz nor fluent Arabic recitation but I am still doing it from the Fazr to Esa anyhow anywhere. Untill Now I know two short surah for the Namaz and Attayatu with Basic Sajda (Subhan Allah) and Ruko ( Subhan Allah Rabil azim) , Allhamdulilah and tasbeeh. Now even with such less knowledge and arabic vocublary I am still able to commit to my salah which makes me feel proud of myself, I am not sure if anyone reading this will be able to relate to it. Yes one of my favorites in among all the things I do through out the day is Counting. I wanna stress this out Counting anything not exactly anything but something in which you are putting your effort and concentration. Mostly its perfect if we can count our minutes and money per minute (account balance) but its even more enhacing and rejuvenating if we can count something simple as Tasbeeh. Subhan Allah 33 times, Alhamdullilah 33 times and Allah hu Akbar 34 times. Then I counted how many videos I uploaded today and then I counted the views. Somehting which I am not able to find out its the velocity or the effort invested per time(hour or Minute) . This is what scares me and saddens me as I know why its because of my empty mind with some unnecessary settled thoughts and even my lazy body. All this plus being jobless is horribly annoying and frustrating. More I try to look for a job I get more nervous as these gaps, failures comes out clear in my resume and I can’t imagine how recruiters or people might be looking at it, importantly how the computers might be looking at it. All these time I am mostly trying to calm down myself, repent in a process rather than actually making some false changes and trying harder for a job. This Parkinson's law is impacting me bad as the time have become an enemy for me. If only I could get into one decent job and respect it with all my heart and brain I would begin to use all this what I am doing to make the job interviews and process also count. Anyways this article isn’t about my job finding struggle but about the positives of counting where currently I am counting the salah and surah uploaded. I will try adding on the number of jobs applied to my daily task with some hacker rank preparation of SQL. Well that’s about my journaling and counting. Counting can give you motivation and encouragement.

--

--

Ehtesham Ahmed

Submitting to Allah forever, will jot down everything possible that comes in my mind and life.