4 Note-Taking Tips to Retain Non-Fiction Books Easily And Defeat Forgetting

Humans possess the most powerful memory device in the world

Ahmed Gadaken
4 min readJul 3, 2024

Humans possess the most powerful memory device in the world.

An average adult human brain can store around 2.5 million gigabytes of digital memory, while the largest man-made hard drive holds only 10,000 gigabytes. Despite this, we often struggle to retain information. I used to marvel at people who could effortlessly reference ideas from books during conversations, attributing it to their excellent retention power.

However, I’ve realized that this ability stems from effective note-taking and the practical application of what they read.

Photo by Darius Bashar on Unsplash

Forgetting what you read in non-fiction books can be frustrating, but with the right note-taking strategies, you can significantly improve retention.

As a nonfiction reader, if you fear forgetting what you read, I have note-taking tips to help you retain every book you read. In my years of reading, I’ve found that I don’t remember books I read passively, but I remember well the ones I took notes on and applied.

--

--

Ahmed Gadaken

A marine science student turned digital writer. I'm an active publisher on Medium and X. I write Insights; books, reading, note-taking & habit building.