Ahsankhann Ak
3 min readAug 21, 2022

The Best Vlogging Equipment: What Do You Need To Vlog?

It’s an important question. Buying any vlogging equipment can be expensive, Since launching my vlog in 2016, I’ve had countless people ask me what vlogging equipment I use. so it’s important to make sure you buy what’s best for you.

If you’re just starting out I spent hours and hours researching the best cameras, microphones, drones, tripods etc. it can be quite daunting, so I’ve written this Blog to go over all the vlogging gear I have and recommend

Best Equipment for Creating a Vlog

when I began vlogging, I needed to get a camera that was better than my iPhone. I wasn’t all set hard and fast and purchase a DSLR. I expected to demonstrate myself that I planned to treat vlogging in a serious way before putting resources into vlogging gear.

Best Vlogging Camera — Canon Powershot G7X

I initially purchased a Canon S120 but wasn’t impressed with the sound quality. I sent it back and bought myself the camera EVERY vlogger was telling me to get… the Canon G7X.

I needed a camera that shot great video, had great sound and subsequent to the S120, I needed one with a flip out screen so I could see myself

The G7X didn’t neglect to convey. It is an astounding camera. I carry it wherever with me and the quality is brilliant, even in low light. My main issue with the camera is the reality it doesn’t have outside mic capacities. However, the inward mic is adequate by and large.

Tripod — Joby Gorilla Pod Hybrid

A tripod is a must-have for any vlogger. You’re going to be setting up shots from different angles and to have something like the Joby Hybrid in your bag makes life much easier. It’s super flexible, making it easy to set up good shots, whether that’s propping it up on a bin or attaching it to a tree.

It’s also the perfect size to use as a grip when you’re holding the camera in front of you. It’s lightweight too, so you don’t need to have huge guns to use it

Microphone Muffler

You know that horrible wind noise you get when you’re recording outside? It ruins any video. The MicroMuff (such a great name) helps to reduce that sound. It attaches to your camera with Velcro & adhesive. Super simple & effective..

Spare Batteries

One thing I didn’t mention above is that the Canon G7X (and I guess most cameras) doesn’t have the best battery life. If I’m vlogging all day, I’ll typically use about 1.5 batteries. I’d recommend you get one or two spares. Nothing worse than running out of battery when you’ve got some cool stuff left to shoot

Best Drone for Vlogging

the drone gives your vlog a completely different perspective. There are newer, better, drones out there, such as the DJI Mavic Pro. This is the one I settled for in the end and have to say, I haven’t been disappointed. The footage I’ve captured from this drone is great.