And we met after a long time…

Ahuti Mishra
2 min readJan 1, 2019

--

It has been almost a year since our paths crossed and what a jubilant meet it was, like meeting with great friends always is. I had let my heart out, all my secrets, my guilty pleasures, my plans for future, everything. And all that I got in return was console and comfort from someone who would listen and understand. It was the last days of December I remember, we sat down together with a hot cup of coffee, sprinkled with cocoa and hope for the next year. It was a great evening of reminiscence, full of warmth and fondness for each other.

We spent some time and then left, for our ways. Our roads diverged and we went on with our lives, busy being busy. And gradually we lost all touch… There were times when I thought of going back, of revisiting the bliss of divulging my heart out to someone, something or the other always kept me back from meeting my confidante. With the days passing by, time passing by with all its might, the old promises were forgotten.

But today was a different day, we met.

Year ends and the beginnings are lovely times. December is so forgiving and comforting and January, enthused like a little child, ready to take on the world. And in these magical times, wonderful things happen. And I met with my old friend.

It sat thoughtfully in its usual corner on my desk. Very gentle. Not bothered by its surroundings. Lost in its contemplation. I picked it up, dusted it. And a spark beamed in my heart. I met my old friend again. My diary which was my father’s diary, my dearest friend, my treasured possession. With it there was my sparkly pen. Well, I guess my obsession with sparkle and glitter, stars and magic shall never end. I hope it never does.

We sat down again, exhilarated with happiness, overwhelmed with joy. Words all fumbling out, you know like when you have a lot to say, so it all takes form all at once and then you barely make sense. So we talked and talked, told each other our stories, how far we have come. With the diary in my hand and January’s hope beaming bright in my heart, we made new promises. You know like old friends often do. Like meeting more often, staying in touch. Same. I hope we do.

--

--