Study Tips For Accounting Students

AIAT Institute
3 min readMar 27, 2020

--

1. Use a study planner
Using a planner helps really a lot in scheduling your review and reminding you of what you have to finish.

So what I do is I plot in the monthly overview and weekly overview quizzes, exams, reports and deadlines. Then I list down the topics I have to review and distribute or divide them over the days or weeks I have before the quiz, exam, report or deadline.

In my weekly overview I write down in details the topics I have to review and I check them off if I finish them. I just love the feeling of accomplishing every item in my list.

2. Concept before practice
What I do is I read first the theories or concept of a certain topic, highlighting important ideas and also answering the sample problems then I summarize in my notebook or flashcards what I’ve read.

Then I answer practical accounting books, when answering problems of course you can get things wrong, so, what I do is I mark those problems and I write somewhere in the side of the answer why I got it wrong. After answering all the problems in that topic, I answer again the problem where I made a mistake to see if I already understand it.

Another reason I highlight the problems where I made a mistake is for me to easily find what problems I find difficult or confusing when I want to browse for the last minute.

3. For Business Law or Taxation — Read, Highlight and Summarize
We usually have 10 sections or articles as our homework or worst we’re not really given any details as to what will be covered on our recitation. So, what we do is read as much as we can.

In our school we attend Business Law or Taxation class mainly for recitations or quizzes we don’t usually have discussion, maybe once or twice before midterm or final exams.

I read 10 Sections or Articles, understand them, highlight important notes, then I write in my notebook the exact Section or Article and summarize in my own word what it contains because no books or printed materials are allowed in our class. I do them in a continuous process until I run out of time.

Before, I write first before I try to understand what I’m actually writing and it end up I have written notes but I don’t really understand them deeply. I know what’s written in my notebook but I only memorize them but not really understand them.

So I tried the other way around and that is reading and understanding first before writing my notes. It was more efficient and I ended up writing lesser since I already understand it.

4. Use one calculator
This way you’ll be more familiar with the distance between numbers and where they are situated. You’ll be amaze that you can compute without looking at your calculator.

If you want to change calculators make sure you do it some time before an exam that is enough for you to get used to your new calculator.

Make sure also that the calculator that you are using is allowed in the actual board exam so you don’t have to change and find your calculator unfamiliar.

5. Make studying a habit
I unconciously made studying a habit that was when I was really desperate to pass a subject because my graduation depends on it.

Making study habit means you feel incomplete without studying. Waking up without an alarm and sleeping at the same time everyday.

As for my experience, I was desperate so I really studied everyday! But there was a time when I said I don’t want to study anymore because I’m not making any progress but I just can’t help not to study. I stood up from my bed and started studying.

So, while you’re still a student why not make studying a habit?

For Tally training in Nagpur, Visit: www.aiatindia.com

--

--

AIAT Institute

India’s Best Accounting and Taxation Training with GST, Income Tax,TDS, Tally ERP 9, Excel, with Placement Support http://www.aiatindia.com