How I Quartered My Study Time And Quadrupled Its Quality Using Memory Techniques

Aidan Helfant
2 min readMar 27, 2023

I used to be terrible at studying.

In 11th grade, I walked in for the AP global history text and locked eyes with one of my friends.

“How many times did you read the textbook,” I said, smirking.

“4 times,” he responded.

“Dang, I only read it three times.”

You read that right.

I used to think the best way to study was by passively reading the textbook over and over again.

These passive studying techniques not only made me forget most of what I learned after the test, but they also took disgusting amount of time to do.

I knew there had to be a better way.

Then I discovered the Ancient Memory techniques. Our ancestors have known how to develop fantastic memories for tens of thousands of years. We don’t hear about it now because the techniques are being lost in the digital age.

These techniques include:

  • The Memory Palace Network (For memorizing things in space)
  • The Major System (For memorizing numbers)
  • The Celebrity List (For memorizing words and names)

By doing a deep dive into how memory works and integrating these techniques into my life I have quartered my studying time and quadrupled its quality.

While embarking on this journey, I discovered something more powerful than simply increasing my study effectiveness. I found out that fostering a greater memory can help you:

  • Learn more effectively by establishing a knowledge foundation of a topic
  • Increase creativity
  • Slow time down
  • Memorize vocabulary for a language
  • Memorize sentences
  • Memorize speech topics for giving a speech

If you would like to learn more about how memory works and how you can improve it, check out the original newsletter article this post is based on through my website: Aidan’s Infinite Play 27 The Memory Game How to Train Your Brain to Remember Anything

--

--

Aidan Helfant

I help people level up their life with Obsidian, Gamification, and Meta-Learning. Free Beginner Obsidian Resource List: bit.ly/3YJlKDf 🎮I'm a beast in Terraria