Book Review — Feel-Good Productivity by Ali Abdaal

aiken ong
3 min readJan 13, 2024

--

Ali Abdaal holding and pointing at his new book, Feel-Good Productivity
Credits to Ali Abdaal

I remember being 16 when I picked up my first self-help book, How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie and thinking to myself,

“Wait what? This feels illegal. I can simply learn life from a book?”

That book pulled me into the world of self-help books, going through a string of popular titles such as The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg, Grit by Angela Duckworth, and many more.

I was hooked. Like a hamster in a wheel, I was consuming these books for the motivation highs. While they provided a high amount of motivation, they also only lasted for very short periods. Each rut feels deeper and lower, and self-criticism kicks in harder each time.

I soon lost interest in them.

During my military (national service) days, I came across the podcast, Not Overthinking. It’s a podcast by two brothers, Ali Abdaal, a doctor turned productivity Youtuber, and Taimur Abdaal, a data scientist turned start-up founder, discussing various social/life topics. Their banters and debates, coupled with their laid-back style converted me into a long-time listener.

Moving forward to last summer, Ali announced his new book, Feel-Good Productivity, on the podcast. He has been talking about his writing for the past two or three years. Maybe it was the fan in me, I was intrigued, and I immediately logged on to Amazon.com to pre-order the book.

And last week, the book arrived.

Feel-Good Productivity by Ali Abdaal.

I went into the book with scepticism…

But I came out enjoying it.

I found the positive, light-hearted approach that Ali proposes a breath of fresh air. Instead of calling for a major life overhaul, for example, immediately pack your bag and travel the world or quit your job and be an entrepreneur, the book calls for readers to review their current lifestyle and consider making a series of minor changes to better enjoy life.

The book is well structured. There are 3 main topics, followed by 3 sub-topics, each consisting of 6 experiments (the term that the book used to describe the actionable tips). The book starts off by exploring ways that can help readers perceive and experience fun through their day-to-day tasks. The second part points back to the readers to reflect on deeper mental or physical self-limiting obstacles. The book wraps up by emphasising on the need to cultivate a sustainable productivity plan.

I particularly enjoyed the last part of the book. Many times, we tend to experience burnout from the hustle and bustle of life and the pressure to perform at 100% at all times. The need for instant gratification, comparing ourselves to our peers, benchmarking our lives with their highlights. I think the book does a great suggesting frameworks and tips on how readers could ensure the longevity of their pursuits.

One gripe I have is the insistent use of examples and studies in an attempt to bolster every point. I understand the need to back up claims to gain credibility, but sometimes they feel like weak attempts of retrospectively cherry-picked sources. I was hoping to hear more about how Ali developed the ideas in the book through his own experiences.

In addition, there were points in the book where it felt like a rehash of other popular self-help titles. I can’t help but be reminded of James Clear’s Atomic Habits as I was reading Ali’s book, maybe it was the style, or certain points that felt awfully familiar.

But at the end of the day, the book delivered what it set out to do: to provide a clear framework for feel-good productivity. I am now in my final year of university, in the midst of completing of studies and job-searching. Reading the book gave me a good reason to pause, reflect, and plan for what’s to come. I would recommend this book as a good starter for anyone feeling stuck, or simply want to try out ways to improve their lives.

If you are looking for a podcast to enjoy, I highly recommend checking out Not Overthinking.

--

--