My Dead-Simple Strategy To Grow on LinkedIn in 2023

Steal it

Abdulrazaq
5 min readMar 9, 2023
Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash

Being “multi-passionate” was one of my greatest quirks, but it didn’t get me anywhere did it?

Many years back, art was my thing. I’ve been creating portraits for well over 12 months and was yet to get something tangible out of them.

Like any other artist a tad confused, yet hopeful, I started an Instagram art page to gather followers and expand my reach. I had no mentor, so I knew nothing about content creation, engagement, or how to put together a perfect reel.

Plus, I didn’t learn about it, I was too young to bother with algorithms and all that. In short, I had zero strategies to grow on Instagram, and I never tried using Google to find that out.

Instead, I quit. And found my next calling.

It wasn’t drama or poetry.

It was copywriting.

It appeared like being “multi-passionate” extended to how and where I wanted to grow my copywriting business.

Why LinkedIn?

For about 8 months, I decided to post on Twitter, Instagram, and LinkedIn. It was the perfect trio strategy to gain more clients from different platforms.

I knew what I needed to do to be successful in all. Unlike the younger me who didn’t have a strategy for his art page, this me was different. He had ideas and was ready to take social media by storm…he still is.

It was time to get insanely consistent.

But even that wasn’t enough and led to burnout.

I’d heard gurus emphasize on growing on one platform before moving to the next. But I had to experience it to believe it was impossible. In the long run, that cost me a ton of energy and time.

LinkedIn is a professional platform. It doesn’t thrive under the trend of savage comments to gain recognition (most times).

But it goes beyond that.

So if you abandoned LinkedIn a long time ago, now’s the perfect time to reopen it.

Here’s the round-up for TL;DR lovers

n’ LinkedIn has a cool recommendation feature that shows your expertise immediately

n’ LinkedIn recently rolled out a service page for users

n’ LinkedIn works like an SEO engine for your profiles and LinkedIn articles.

n’ You can build a newsletter directly on LinkedIn

n’ LinkedIn has a dedicated job board to help service providers easily find work

n’ LinkedIn events are very like Twitter spaces.

In all, it’s a great place for decision-makers, job opportunities, and an interesting place to build your brand.

But like everything else, it doesn’t work so much for all niches. Art lovers are more likely to have better success on Instagram while solopreneurs, copywriters, and podcast owners most likely thrive on LinkedIn.

Then as you build on LinkedIn in any of these niches, you can repurpose to videos, carousels, or photos on Instagram.

Moving on…

Strategy

I know what I must do to grow my business and be successful. It literally stares me in the face every single day.

Show up so much that it becomes natural to see my profile in 80% of creators post, learn daily and reach out to my ideal prospects often with a well-crafted personalized message so good they can’t ignore me. Probably leave LinkedIn staff amazed at the consistency and gift me a top voice badge (Not really sure how obtaining those badges work though)

But like everything else, we get stuck on the how

- How to stay consistent

- How to keep learning copywriting

- How to find and reach out to my ideal client

I’m writing this section after losing the motivation to engage for a long time today. Personal life occurrences show up like eyes in a Swiss Cheese.

But amidst the brainstorming, I came up with a solution I’m sure would complement my goal on LinkedIn to work with amazing clients.

Here it is

Engage & Post Consistently: Top creators say how much engagement can increase your visibility, and I’ve witnessed it first-hand.

Recently, I was listed in a carousel by a growing connection as “most active LinkedIn creators to follow”. Guess engagement works well, huh?

For the next 48 hours after that carousel, my profile views, connection requests, and post impressions increased.

So, it’s only natural to keep engaging with meaningful connections.

Sometimes, clients and followers increase simultaneously. However, more cash is the first step for me. Afterward, I could help new creators in the space with free resources. That’s where a huge following would make more sense.

Justin Welsh has over 350k LinkedIn followers and makes a ton from his digital courses.

Niharikaa Kaur Sodhi has over 100k and launches her cohort-based course yearly. LinkedIn helps with that.

In all, having a huge number of followers is beneficial when you decide to start selling your products. So while working on achieving clients, a side plan to grow in followers is my recommendation.

How?

Engaging (75 minutes at least) and posting consistently.

Reach out to prospects: It’s impressive that we all want leads flooding our inboxes, dying to work with us. The reality is, it doesn’t always happen. Especially when you’ve just put your foot in the door.

To bridge that gap of being somewhat new, find those prospects yourself and engage with them while posting content.

I haven’t yet come up with the best way to network with them. But here’s what I want to do

n’ Discover what they do outside LinkedIn

n’ Show up in the comment section of their posts

n’ Help them write copy if you realize that they need one.

And, that’s a wrap.

TL;DR

  • Engage daily for at least 75 minutes
  • Post consistently
  • Search and reach out to ideal clients

Hey, it’s simple. But I never said it was gonna be easy. Sometimes, it’s more relaxing to give up and return to what you were doing before deciding to show up on LinkedIn.

But that’s what separates those that decide to stick with a process and those that don’t.

PS: Join me on LinkedIn here

--

--

Abdulrazaq

Stories intersecting copywriting, self-growth, and mental health | Copywriter | Part-time Medium blogger