CRITICAL MAKING STUDIO

The Parametric Home

My final project proposal

Aitana Rothfeld
2 min readMar 25, 2020
Source: Out of Hand by Greg Lynn

I spent the last couple weeks playing with how to make topographic maps more tactile, and how this could add a new interactive experience, particularly for people with visual impairments.

After quite a bit of altering, I came up with two physical models, both created in Rhino and Grasshopper, and printed using a Formlabs Form 2 printer:

However, I have decided that I would find more meaning if I used this project as an opportunity to continue on my ‘Rethinking the Kitchen’ project from fall:

In this project, I designed and created a 3D printable handle that could be attached to kitchen appliance handles, in order to make them more accessible for people with mobility disabilities.

How valuable would it be if we could tackle the ‘one-size-fits-all’ mentality that goes into industrial design, which often forgets many? I could use parametric concepts in order to rapidly create variable tools for the home.

The possibilities are endless, and could be again focused on the kitchen (ie eating and cooking utensils), or spread throughout the whole home (ie screwdrivers and scissors).

Next Steps

Choose 1–3 common household tools that could be easily designed and reconfigurable using CAD design with Rhino and Grasshopper.

Begin designing and iterating the chosen household tools. Print and test often for functionality and ease of use.

So far, I am a group of 1, since I am working off of my final project from fall.

Deliverables

A variety of 3D printed household tools, with a variety of handles depending on need, that can actually be used for their intended purposes.

My plan is to use 3D printing and plastic materials primarily, although CNC milling could definitely be utilized in the development process as well.

--

--

Aitana Rothfeld

I go through life imagining meaningful experiences for human beings, making them a reality through research and design.