Dear Mythbusters

Aaron Jacobson
1 min readMar 7, 2016

--

Dear Mythbusters team,

This morning, I watched the final and reunion episodes of Mythbusters and I’m not ashamed to admit that I cried a little when it ended. Ever since I was 9 years old, I’ve watched Adam and Jamie and the crew test myths using the scientific method, and of course, blow shit up. It was the big boost to my interest in science. I’d always had a natural curiosity about the world and was a voracious reader as a kid, but your show made me realize that science was cool.

As I went into high school, I aced all my science classes, often to the point of reducing my grades in other classes. It led to me getting an internship in a research & development lab in high school, doing simple chemical tests and programming for a company in my hometown. Now, it’s led to me being a college chemistry student and doing research in an organic chemistry lab. All due to the giant push of motivation from watching Mythbusters. Today felt like an end of an era, and I aspire for my career to impact as many people as you all did. So to Adam and Jamie, Kari, Grant, and Tory, and the rest of the Mythbusters crew: I hope you all keep on keeping on and I hope whatever you do, you still keep doing cool science and sick engineering feats.

You will be greatly missed,

Aaron Jacobson, forever science student and kid at heart.

--

--

Aaron Jacobson

Chemistry graduate student. Chemist, programmer, and wine aficionado. House of Cards, Calvin Klein clothing, foreign policy, and CNN.