Never reduce a target

Andres J. Chocron
2 min readApr 19, 2020

--

I’ve recently read the book “The 10x Rule” by Grant Cardone after buying it over a year ago. The reason I put it away for so long is because when I bought it, I also watched a bunch of interviews with the author and he’s repetitive with his message on video so I guessed it would be more of the same.

But in a few weeks I will have to go back to the SELL SELL SELL mentality so I decided to read this one and a couple more, including the way of the wolf by Jordan Belfort. This books are good to put yourself in the selling mindframe, to go out there, walk the walk and bring the numbers.

I digress, lets get to the point:

The book makes a great point that in my opinion is true for whatever it is your doing in life and business: Things take more time, effort and resources than anticipated.

And for many of us at one point or another, in our professional lives, decide to give ourselves a break because things are getting hard, or we decide to reduce the monthly sell goals of our employees because we realize they are not going to make it. Here is where Grant Cardone makes an excelent point:

Never reduce a target. Instead, increase actions.

When you start rethinking your targets and goals, making up stupid excuses, and letting yourself off the hook, you are giving up, as simple as that.

For example; I want to run a half marathon in 4 weeks and I need to train almost every single day, I have an time goal in mind. Its not uncommon to have the thought of increasing the time goal and relax a little bit on every training session. But why? That fear of failing is stupid, it’s a mental game we all play to avoid pressuring ourselves and others.

Other takeaways:

“That is what lower performers do; they make others wrong for doing what is necessary in order to make themselves feel okay about doing nothing! The highest performers — the winners — respond by studying successful people and duplicating success.”

Grant Cardone

“I suggest that you become obsessed about the things you want; otherwise, you are going to spend a lifetime being obsessed with making up excuses as to why you didn’t get the life you wanted.”

Grant Cardone

--

--

Andres J. Chocron

BausLabs Founder| Entrepreneurship, Marketing, Finance & Logistics. @ajchocron