Get serial number of lockediPhone

Ajeet Sharma
2 min readAug 6, 2019

--

I will discuss about how to get the serial number of iPhone which has Actionvation lock and you do not have credentials. Why I am writing this article because I had faced issue to get the serial number.

I was working in a small IT company where we had ample of iphone and iPad device and we were maintaining excel sheet to track the device. In this sheet we used to keep record about the device against serial number. However we could get IMEI number of iPhone from back side of iPhone. but that was not going to help in that case.

The serial number we can get from the box of the iPhone. But for some good reason the serial number was scrached and it was not visible.

I was the inventory owner and was responsible for all devices. As per record I had only one device which was locked and the serial number of that device was not visible. This was very obvious that this is the only device which is only showing one row in the sheet but I had to prove it as I was doing hand over of inventory list to some other person and I was leaving the organization.

I started looking up on search engines, sought help from Apple support centre but it was not that much fruitful. But during this period I came around some tricks which I am going to share.

First connect your phone to Mac machine with cable. Consequently iTunes will launch. Then switch off your phone and press Home button and power button together and keep Home button pressed. It will take you to recovery state. Your phone will look like.

Now go to iTunes and you will find screen like

Click on cancel and then you will find you serial number on iTunes

From here you can try to restore your phone also.

Thanks for reading this article. Hope this will help you in some manner.

--

--