My First Open Source Experience

Aditya Jetely
2 min readSep 1, 2020

--

An article about my open-source experience with StudentCodein(SCI).

Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

What is Student Code-in(SCI)?

Student Code-In is a global program that helps students grow with Open Source Contribution. It is a 2 months long Open-Source initiative which provides you with the best platform to improve your skills and abilities by contributing to a vast variety of Open Source Projects Projects. In this, all the registered participants would get an exquisite opportunity to interact with the mentors and the Organizing Team.

Student Code-In Logo

My Experience

I joined SCI as a participant under the project called Survival Analysis with Python. The project admin was Akshat Anand and I was mentored by Rohan Mathur and Ankur Chourasia. Abhijit Tripathy was a fellow participant along with me. Before starting the project I was a bit nervous as I had never contributed to open source but both the mentors and the Project Admin were so friendly and helpful that all my fear about open-source vanished as they were always ready to help us and they guided us throughout the project.

Through SCI I learnt a lot of things, not just about open source but also about project management, teamwork, time management and better code practices. I also acquired knowledge about various technologies as most of the elements used in our project were new to me.

I can for sure say that I had an awesome experience with SCI and I want to thank the organisers for creating this programme as well as for choosing me as a participant and I also want to thank all the members of my team without the support of whom this journey wouldn’t have been as awesome as it was.

To know about our project you can visit the following links:

PS: The results of SCI were declared today and I am one of the top 25 contributors.

--

--

Aditya Jetely

Final Year Electronics and Communication Engineering Student with a keen interest in data science and open source. https://www.linkedin.com/in/aditya-jetely