Essay#2 Reflection

Angelina Jimenez Sebastian
2 min readNov 2, 2021

This meme describes me because when writing my essay, I wanted to be challenged and to test my skills and see if I have improved. When writing my essay, I had trouble on how to start off my topic sentence because I wanted it to connect with my thesis at the same time I didn’t want to give to much information. This is the second essay that I have written which gives me a point of view on how my essay needs to look like in MLA format. When writing this essay, I said to myself no matter how hard it is to write I am going to finish on time and write it correctly. At times I wanted to give up and I told myself that this is to make me better at writing essay and I will use it in my career in the future. The meme shows how my face exactly was when I realized how much pages there need to be because I’ve never wrote that many pages for an essay when I was in high school.

The progress I’ve made from my rough draft to my final draft made me very happy when I turned it in because in my final draft, I knew that I have correct all my mistakes when I first submitted my rough draft. When I turned in my rough draft, I had mistakes that I didn’t catch before submitting it. One of my most common mistakes that I made was forgetting to put my analysis in my thesis also forgetting to explain more on my facts that I had stated. I am very satisfied with my final essay, but I wish I could have worded my essay different. The writing experiences for essay #2 were more on writing on agreeing with the movement but with a difference at the same time. You had to write about the movement about the causes and effect but in essay #1 you had to write about a social ritual in the informative of they say. When finishing essay #1 and going to the next essay #2 was challenging because they were topics that were written different.

In essay #1 I had to create interest in my social ritual and talk about my ritual’s history, meaning, and the process of the wedding of my ritual. Essay #1 was me writing and explaining the ritual of the Hindu wedding. In essay #2 I wrote about the causes and effects on the Black Lives Matter movement. Essay #2 I chose to start on the causes of the movement and then agreeing but at the same time agreeing with the differences. In both essays the audience changed which was a challenging skill that I got use to.

--

--