The Spanish House

Amanda Maurer
4 min readNov 19, 2015

--

Widely known amongst the Calvin community is the power of its Spanish department. Being one of the most valuable languages in today’s culture, students do not hesitate to throw themselves into the vast opportunities that the college provides to those interested.

Amongst a variety of options, there is weekly Spanish dinner and Chapel along with an occasional Spanish movie showing. Each offers a tremendous way for students to grow deeply in their knowledge of the language.

By far, one of the more interesting choices students having the option of is the Spanish House.

One of the many housing options available at Calvin, students who are accepted are placed in one of the Knollcrest East apartments with other students who are enthusiastic about learning not only just the language but also about the culture.

The only real requirement present within these living spaces is that when speaking, English is utterly forgotten about and replaced with of course, Spanish.

For some though, like student Nataly Najaro, living in the Spanish House serves several different purposes. “Spanish began when I was born. It was spoken to me since the time I was born.”

Both of Nataly’s parents came from Spanish speaking countries. “I really missed hearing Spanish. Being able to live here really connects me back to my roots and makes me feel at home.”

While Nataly really already knows the essentials of Spanish, she admits that her conversational skills could still use a little bit of work.

Additionally an intern at the United Church Outreach Ministry or UCOM, she mainly services those of Spanish descent. Often, she spends her days assisting these people in an assortment of tasks, such as in the food bank set up there.

“The Spanish House has helped me to improve in conversation, so I can perform better at work where it is vital that I know how to speak Spanish. Many of the services UCOM provides to them would not be possible or successful if someone did not know Spanish.”

Nataly reveals that living here has helped her in more ways than she is truly able to describe. “I am heavily involved in the club Puentes for the Hispanic/Latino community on campus.”

This organization strives to make sure students feel comfortable and supported, while enjoying aspects of the different cultures, like food, music, dance and movies.

“A lot of the things I see here I am able to bring back to the apartment and show everyone else. It is really great to be able to show everyone different aspects of the culture.”

The Spanish House also serves to get students ready for study abroad trips either in the coming fall or just next semester. Two students living there now, Alizabeth Kerber and Kate Nordquist are planning on doing this, going to Peru and Spain.

Alizabeth comments that living here has caused her to become much more excited about leaving in the coming semesters.

“I have always wondered what people were saying whenever I saw them speaking Spanish.” A little wary about her ability to understand those who talked to her when she was in Peru, she says being able to live here has allowed her to become much more comfortable with the language.

“Spanish used to be something I struggled with a lot. But I was very curious about the Spanish people I saw around myself everyday and so I pushed myself to study the language a little harder and put in more time.”

The Spanish House offers a place for great community where you can really get involved with the culture in a deeper manner. Often the apartments get together to make typical Spanish food or watch Spanish telenovelas together.

Alizabeth says, “Living with others who speak Spanish is a great thing to be around. We are able to correct each other mistakes.”

“We also have native speakers here with us who know the language very well. It’s all very well planned out to make sure we are getting the most out of living here. It is really not stressful and just a place where you can relax and practice your skills.”

“I think I have learned a lot of new things that will help me tremendously when I study abroad. I will go now with new skills that will help advance my Spanish much more than I could have, had I not had the opportunity to live and become involved in the Spanish House.”

Additionally, the Spanish House takes trips out into Grand Rapids to experience some of the Hispanic culture. Earlier on in the year they attended a Mexican festival.

Joanna Jaimes, another member of the house, comments that it was, “A great display of Mexican culture with a flea market, a mariachi band and traditional dances.”

“It was really neat because they were able to share the culture with more than just the Hispanic community. People from a vast number of different backgrounds came and were able to celebrate the culture, as well as learn about it. In essence, that is really what the Spanish House aims to do.”

In total, the Spanish House is about truly immersing yourself into all aspects of the language and culture.

As Joanna Jaimes says, “It’s a challenge for many at first, but truly a reward in the end when you come out a more knowledgable person.”

--

--