Forgetting about the tasks you thought of doing later?

Here is a handy productivity tool worth trying.

Arjun Narayanan
2 min readMay 19, 2024
Photo by Milad Fakurian on Unsplash

Problem statement:

I noticed that I was forgetting to complete tasks that were to be done at a later time. This includes any personal work that needs to be done at a later time. When any tasks come to my mind that have to be done in the future, mostly I think that I will complete them during the upcoming weekend but when the weekend comes I feel like a free bird not knowing what to do i.e. would have forgotten the task in the end during the weekend.

It will be all vague for me and my to-do list was growing over time.

Then I started scheduling tasks/ events by using Google Calendar. Google Calendar from Google is an application that can be used on any device. I use the mobile application installed from the Play Store.

Scheduling an event or a task:

A task is something that needs to be completed at a particular time. I have a recurring task scheduled to pay a monthly EMI. I receive a notification for this, and once completed, this task is marked as done in my calendar.

An event is something that you allocate time to concentrate on. I started adding most of the things that I was forgetting as events. We can also receive a notification for an event, but it does not need to be marked as completed like a task.

Time blocking:

As I started using Google Calendar daily, I used to block time for various day-to-day activities.

Photo by Gaining Visuals on Unsplash

I have a daily recurring event before bed to read a few pages of a book. As a member of the monthly book reading community, booksandbakes, this helped me to take some time out of my day to concentrate on the book in my hand.

Scheduling and allocating time blocks for various activities has improved my time spent during the day. I had a sense of accomplishment in completing the tasks listed on my calendar. As a not-so-assertive person, and one trying to become one, this is one of the tools I rely on to keep me on track.

--

--

Arjun Narayanan

Follow for Stories on Personal Growth, Creative Writing and Book Review.