Is Afro-Hair Accepted at Work?

Ajumoke Nwaeze (AJ)
2 min readNov 7, 2023

--

Ajumoke Nwaeze on Afro

As an African woman with luscious kinky and a streak of grey hair, I am naturally inclined to show off my crown, occasionally.

However, wearing African hairstyles to workplaces outside of Africa has become a topic of discussion and an important aspect of diversity and inclusion in recent years. Afro and other African hairstyles are incredibly diverse, culturally significant, and can be a powerful expression of one’s identity. But how acceptable is it in a Western workplace?

I have heard stories in the past about how women who wear their kinks to interviews and workplaces are treated differently.
I have also read a school paper suggesting that the chances of a black woman getting rejected are very high if she attends an interview wearing her Afro hair. Sad!

Personally, I haven’t encountered such a situation because I am yet to wear my natural hair to an interview. I have only worn it occasionally to work and received comments like, “You look different today!” “You changed your hair again?” “Can I touch it?”

I want to believe that the acceptability of African hairstyles in Western workplaces is evolving, with many organizations actively encouraging diversity and inclusion.
Although some people may mistakenly associate Afro-styles at work with unprofessionalism because they are unaware of the cultural significance, many organizations understand the African heritage and have implemented more inclusive dress codes, explicitly allowing African hairstyles such as braids, twists, locs, and afros.

Ultimately, this is not only about embracing diversity but also about promoting a more equitable and inclusive society where individuals can bring their whole selves to work. The key is to create an environment where people can express their cultural identities, including through their hairstyles, without fear of discrimination.

So…dear employer,
Please do not allow my kinky hair to come in between our productivity; what’s inside my head is way more relevant than what’s on top of it.

#inclusion #diversity #africanculture

Click HERE to view my collection of Afro Hair Styles.

--

--

Ajumoke Nwaeze (AJ)

AJ is a multi-talented personality with a Masters in English (Creative Writing). She expresses her thoughts through storytelling, music and other forms of art.