Casting the MCU’s Fantastic Four

AJ Wellman
4 min readJul 24, 2019

The Annual San Diego Comic-Con was this past weekend, and on Saturday Marvel hosted their infamous Hall H Panel. Where they revealed their entire slate for Phase 4 of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. At the end of the panel Marvel Studios president, Kevin Feige, teased some future projects that were on the way. The crowd went the most bananas when Feige mentioned that Marvel’s First Family, ‘The Fantastic Four’, were going to be joining the MCU. Speculation on who they will cast has been running rampant ever since rumors of Disney acquiring Fox started in 2017. In this blog I will give you my top 3 choices for each member and one choice that I think is possible that i would dislike very much.

Mr. Fantastic(Reed Richards):

  1. John Krasinski
  2. Keanu Reeves
  3. Ewan McGregor

Krasinski is the obvious pick here, especially if you pair him with Blunt(who is my first choice to play Sue Storm). Keanu will be featured later on in this list, but if I can’t have my hands on Krasinski give me Keanu! I need him in the MCU like I need for Kacey Musgraves to respond to my DM’s. Ewan McGregor is a fantastic actor. I didn’t hate him in Christopher Robin!! Anyways, he’s my value pick here. I give the top 2 choices a 95% chance of being the MCU’s Reed Richards(with Krasinski being 75% by himself).

  1. Ansel Elgort

BOOOOOOO.

The Invisible Woman(Sue Storm):

  1. Emily Blunt
  2. Anne Hathaway
  3. Charlize Theron

Like I said above, pairing Blunt/Krasinski together is the ideal scenario. It may be the easy and simple choice, but sometimes those choices are easy for a reason! Anne Hathaway was amazing in “The Dark Knight Rises”, I just don’t know if she or Theron would want to do it. But never doubt Kevin “The Hat” Fiege!

  1. Blake Lively

Someone on twitter suggested this and I wanted to put my boot though a door.

Johnny Storm(The Human Torch):

  1. Zac Efron
  2. John Boyega
  3. Dacre Montgomery

You need comedic relief, charisma, and a handsome king here. To Be Honest, My first pick is John Boyega; I think he’s absolutely electric and his schedule will be freed up once Episode 9 releases. Efron seems to be the crowd and Vegas’s favorite here. I don’t hate the pick and think he’s the fairly obvious choice. Montgomery got a lot of love for his showing in season 3 of “Stranger Things”, as he should be. He was a SNACK as Billy and put on a not half bad acting performance either. But I think he falls into Tier 2 of these selections for the Fiery Johnny Storm.

  1. Ansel Elgort/Timothy Chalamét

I think Chalamét is an amazing actor, I don’t think he’s suited for any Superhero movie. Especially as Johnny Storm who needs to be an absolute electric factory. BOOOOOOO you Ansel Elgort.

Ben Grimm(The Thing):

  1. The Rock
  2. John Cena
  3. Caleb Landry Jones

This I struggled with the most. The Rock is far and away the home run pick here. Outside of that I wasn’t really sure. To be honest I don’t really know if Caleb Landry Jones would be a good casting here, he would for sure save them a lot of money. But you know what why not, make it one of the former Pro Wrestlers.

  1. Jason Statham

I’ll be furious if this is what happens. Love Jason Statham in the Fast & Furious franchise. Jason Statham only has one character, and it’s Jason Statham.

Doctor Doom:

  1. Keanu Reeves
  2. Adam Driver
  3. Bryan Cranston/Javier Bardem

Keanu has to be the obvious pick here. But If Krasinski is out as Mr. Fantastic, then put Keanu in that slot and give me Adam Driver. I LOVE Driver. I think he was amazing in BlackKklansman and Logan Lucky. PLUS, I really enjoy Kylo Ren as a character(The Last Jedi was good and I will die on that hill, but that’s a post for another day), So he already has experience of being a major villain in a tentpole, Disney Franchise. He’s a younger pick than Keanu, but he would be a tremendous Dr. Doom. Cranston/Bardem are equally safe picks in my mind. I just don’t know if I want them around for a whole franchise as a villain(Since a lot of rumors are saying Dr. Doom could be the next big bad of the MCU). There’s no doubt in my mind that they would do fantastic jobs as Victor Von Doom for A movie, but if he’s around for a while I’ll lean with my first 2 picks.

  1. Joseph Gordon-Levitt

Another one I saw mentioned on twitter that I would not care for whatsoever. Now, I think JGL is a fine actor but I don’t want to see him in this role at all.

Namor

  1. Oscar Isaac

I realize this is my third Star Wars pick, But I don’t care, Oscar Isaac has to be given another shot in a superhero franchise. We can’t let his only time be “X-Men: Apocalypse” It’s not fair! What if we only gave Chris Evans and Michael B. Jordan their one chances (Both Played Johnny Storm in separate F4 Franchises)??? Isaac is tremendous as Poe Dameron and he was dynamic in “Ex Machina”.

  1. Ansel Elgort

KEEP HIM AWAY FROM THE MCU.

Galactus

  1. James Earl Jones

There’s only one choice and I won’t hear otherwise.

Mole Man

  1. Danny Devito

Again, There’s only one choice and I won’t hear otherwise.

--

--