INSECURITY

Delano T. Jarrett
2 min readSep 18, 2020

--

DON’T COMPARE YOURSELF TO OTHERS

I’ve been realizing for a while now that, even though YouTube is a platform that inspires me to create more, and makes me want to share my thoughts and experiences, it is also a platform that creates insecurities.

I look at what other creators are capable of doing i.e. cinematographers, photographers. And it makes me feel bad about my work. It makes me not want to put out content. And that is something that I am going to have to practice on.

I need to stop comparing myself to others. I often forget that when I watch an amazing video from a popular creator, that they’re displaying years of knowledge. They’ve already put time into honing their craft. So of course I’m not going to be at their level.

That is something weird about how we perceive time. We don’t think about the fact that they didn’t just wake up and release this work. They had to take time to get good at it. That’s a process I’m going to have to follow as well.

Patience is key.

I have to keep that constant thought in mind, so that I don’t discourage myself. Because ultimately they’re not the one discouraging me, I’m discouraging myself. My self doubt is the issue. Putting all this pressure on myself is not healthy. That’s something that I’m going to have to work on. And if that’s something that you’re going to have to work on as well, you have to keep hammering the thought in your head; that if there is anything that you want to be better at or more successful at, it is going to take time.

--

--