The Promise-Short love story with moral lesson

Akash
2 min readFeb 27, 2023

--

Once upon a time, there was a young couple named Adam and Emily. They met in college and fell deeply in love. They promised to each other that they would love and support each other no matter what happens.

After graduation, Adam landed a job in a different city, and Emily stayed back in their hometown. The couple continued their long-distance relationship, talking on the phone every day and texting each other all the time. They promised to be faithful and to wait for each other until they could be together again.

Months passed, and Adam became busier with his job, while Emily was struggling with her studies. They started to drift apart, and their conversations became less frequent. One day, Adam received a call from Emily. She sounded sad and distant.

“Adam, I’m sorry,” she said. “I’ve met someone else, and I don’t think I can keep my promise to you anymore.”

Adam was heartbroken. He couldn’t believe that Emily had broken their promise. He tried to convince her to give their relationship another chance, but Emily was determined to move on. Adam was devastated, but he respected her decision.

Years passed, and Adam moved on with his life. He found a new job, made new friends, and even started dating again. But he never forgot Emily and the promise they had made to each other.

One day, Adam received a call from Emily. She was crying, and her voice was shaky.

“Adam, I need you,” she said. “My husband has left me, and I don’t know what to do. I remembered the promise we made, and I knew you were the only one who could help me.”

Adam was surprised to hear from Emily, but he didn’t hesitate to help her. He flew to her city and stayed with her for a few days. He comforted her and helped her through her difficult time.

As they spent time together, Adam realized that he still loved Emily, and she felt the same way. They talked about their past, their mistakes, and the promise they had made to each other.

“Emily, I know we’ve both made mistakes, but I still love you,” Adam said. “I want to keep our promise and be there for you always.”

Emily looked at him with tears in her eyes. “Adam, I love you too,” she said. “I’m sorry I broke our promise. I never should have given up on us.”

Adam and Emily reconciled, and they got married a few months later. They kept their promise to each other and remained faithful and supportive throughout their lives.

Moral Lesson: Promises are sacred and should never be broken. It’s essential to keep your word, even when it’s difficult or inconvenient. True love and loyalty are built on trust and keeping promises.

--

--