These Dark Secrets Of Indian Education System Will Shock You!

Akash Pandey
7 min readSep 5, 2019

--

Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam’s quote about Indian education system
APJ Abdul Kalam’s quote about Indian Education system

The dream of APJ Abdul Kalam isn’t came true till today because of our government and society(all of us including me and you.)

To know more about how bad is our education system lets know-how our education system was made…

Credit: Him-eesh Madaan

In the mid 18th century, British East India Company wanted to establish industries in India. To run those industries, they needed three types of employees

  1. Clerks: To do office works.
  2. Military Man: To secure industries and the British empire.
  3. Workers: To work in industries.

To do these jobs, a person don’t need to be creative. So, Britisher build an education system to teach Indian. Sadly that education system is still followed in India and that is why students can’t become the best version of themselves.

Frustration of studies

Why our education system is bad?

There are plenty of reasons why our education system is bad, but here are some of them:

  1. It produces parrots: Our education system teaches us to just consume more and more information. Which don’t make us next Einstein but it leads to stress and forgetfulness in our life.
  2. Lack of knowledge: According to ASER, 62.8% students of 6th grades can’t even read.
  3. It only cares about marks: Our education system just wants marks. It doesn’t care about what are you interested in or which subject do you love.
  4. Pressure of our society: From the point above, if someone tries to follow his heart and do what he loves to do, then the society humiliate him so bad that he can’t never think of doing what he loved to do.

Here is an example of how society humiliates someone(by Neil Menon)

“So, how many of you want to be doctors?” The counsellor asked a jam-packed hall of about a 145 10th graders.

Almost half the hall stood up.

“Wow!” He exclaimed with an expression that reflected how impressed he was. “Almost half the batch is going to heal the world and make it a better place!”

Many laughed at his Michael Jackson pun.

“Okay, so how many of you want to be engineers?” He asked again.

The remaining half stood up.

“Amazing!” He cried. “Simply amazing! Seems like almost all of you already know how to make money! Congratulations!”

I had been sitting all through these two surveys and it seemed like I wouldn’t have an opportunity to raise my hand and make my presence felt. Just as I was about to stand up and say, excuse me, the counsellor raised the microphone once again.

“Anyone here other than doctors and engineers?”

Me and another friend of mine stood up.

“Wow! Just the two of you?” He asked, with a hint of mockery in his voice. “So, what do you want to be, son?”

Someone passed me the microphone. “I want to be a scientist!”, I said, puffing up my chest. There was pride in my heart and excitement in my voice.

As soon as I said what I wanted to be, the whole class erupted into such peals and squeals of laughter that it sounded like Russell Peters had just cracked a somebody gonna get-a hurt reeaaall baddd joke, or Jeff Dunham had just yelled silence! I keeeell you through his puppet, Achmed.

Seeing the kind of laughter and humiliation, my friend, who had also stood up with me, sat back down.

“Son, a scientist? Are you sure?” The counsellor, who was jovial and friendly all this while, suddenly turned serious.

“Y-y-yes, sir!” I croaked. I was embarrassed and humiliated.

“Son, think about it,” he said. “There’s no money in being a scientist. It’s a lot of hard work for nothing. You need to study forever and you will not be able to have a proper family. Look at Einstein and Newton — they never had families. Have you ever heard of a Mrs. Einstein or a Mrs. Newton? I doubt you have! Are you sure you want to end up like them?”

“N-n-no, sir!” By now I felt so badly humiliated that I just wanted to crawl under the desk and stay there until this fucked up workshop ended.

All I remember after that is coming home, confused, shaken and lost. I had wanted to be a scientist since I was 10. And now, at 15, some douche tells me I’m doomed if I become one.

“Do you still want to be like Stephen Hawking?” Dad asked, after I sat down and spoke to both Mom and Dad later that evening.

“Yes, I do!” I said, but lacking the confidence I used to have.

“Then screw that summbicth!” Dad said, putting his palm on my shoulder to calm me. “Don’t worry about what he said! You just do what you gotta do!”

Suddenly, I was filled with renewed vigour! Suddenly, I was more stubborn and resolved than ever!

I’ll show this asshole that there are awesome scientists who earn well and raise beautiful families!

Well, the latter two haven’t really worked out so far, but I’m almost through with my PhD.

BEST…DECISION….EVER!!

Now you know how society humiliates. Let’s look at the 4th point of ‘Why our education system is bad?’

5. Syllabus is rusted: Our government doesn’t keep our syllabus up to date. To illustrate, when I was in grade 9th I had the same chapters that my brother do have now.

6. Worst Gift: Do you know what’s the worst thing that our education system gives us? It is a fear mindset. Remember when were in schools and you got bad grades, your parents and teachers bullied you so bad that you now have a fear mindset. Now you think that doing a mistake is a bad thing, but in order to learn something new you have to do some mistakes and because of that fear mindset that you have, you don’t dare to do any mistakes and you end up learning nothing.

7.Cause Suicides: The National Crime Records Bureau (NCRB) in its 2015 data made a shocking revelation that in India, one student commits suicide every hour.

There are a ton more bad side, but let’s take a look at the good side of our education system

How Our Education System Is Good?

  1. Less expensive: Yeah! The cost of education in India is less expensive as compared to other countries like the USA and UK, but the value that our education system provides us, is it worth it?

After completing expensive courses like BCA, BBA, etc. The only thing we get is a piece of paper popularly known as ‘Degree

You don’t believe it? Just take a look at video given below:)

Credit: Ujjawal Patni

2. Produces the highest number of Engineers: Do you know which country produces the highest number of engineers around the globe?

Yes, you guessed it right, it is India. But here is a shocking report by Indiatoday.

India produces 1.5 million engineers every year and 97% of graduating engineers want jobs either in software engineering or core engineering.

stats about engineering students

However, only 3% have suitable skills to be employed in software or product market, and only 7% can handle core engineering tasks.

That’s how our education system serves our nation. I’m not saying that every school and college are the same, there are some colleges and schools, which educate the students very well.

Now you know, how bad our education system is…

How can we improve/secure the future of our country?

When I was a kid, my solution to this question was “Government should completely change this education system ”, but as I grew up I understand that this solution was totally impractical.

But there are plenty of solutions that can secure our country’s future. These solutions can’t change the education system completely.

Solution 1(The Government way)

Government should deploy better teachers, teachers who understand the psychology of children, teachers who are enthusiastic about teaching kids, teachers who are very creative at teaching kids.

Government should also modify the syllabus and should add those concepts in syllabus that are interesting to children, concepts that encourage kids to know more about it.

The government should invest more money in the education of kids, who are future of the nation.

Solution 2(The Student way)

You should change the mentality, which you have, you should think of becoming an employer, not an employee. You should think of becoming innovators, artists, scientists, thinkers and writers who can establish the foundation of a knowledge-based economy rather than the low-quality service provider nation that we are turning into.

You should find your passions, what you love to do and choose it as a career option without thinking of the criticism of society.

If you choose your passion as your career, then even if your college is bad, you will excel because of your curiosity about the subject and thanks to the internet, with the internet you can learn almost anything without even money.

Conclusion

Don’t you think that famous personalities like Sundar Pichai, Satya Nadella, APJ Abdul Kalam, Aamir Khan, Dhirubhai Ambani, Sachin Tendulkar and many more like them had studied by this bad education system?

Yes, our education system is bad, but if you love what you study you will learn more and more about your subject with the help of Internet.

-Akash Pandey

--

--

Akash Pandey

I’m an Indian student and I love to explore and understand new things and share those knowledge with the world.