It’s National Bad Poetry Day

A. Kate Willett
2 min readAug 18, 2023

--

At least, that’s what Leah says.

Fresh red roses splayed on top of an open book of poetry
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

According to one of my writing group chats, today, August 18th, is National Bad Poetry Day. I can’t find anything authoritative to confirm this, but I trust my fellow author Leah and her literary calendar so I’m celebrating! To do this, I’m publishing one of my own bad poems below. This word jewel was created by yours truly in college for Professor Shaw’s Creative Writing 101 class. Enjoy! Or don’t. Does bad poetry turn good on a day like today?

DECISIVENESS BLOOMING

A handful of flowers were given to me/By a little boy who seemed to be/Too optimistic.

Now they die in a fake vase/With a crack at the back of the base/And on the side of it.

I’ve debated tossing them out/Too many days have passed to count/But I like having them near.

And what if he comes back down the lane,/Noticed, and asked me to explain/Why they disappeared?

The water is dank, the petals are lost./The flowers by now should’ve been tossed./But…I won’t.

I imagine the boy/And what he would say/I can’t just throw them away./So…I don’t.

Professor Shaw gave me a decent score and some gentle notes, I’m assuming because I turned something in and made an effort :) As you can see, poetry is not my area of expertise. Hopefully this gave you a chuckle or two.

--

--

A. Kate Willett

Reader. Writer. Mystery fan. Amateur historian. Occasional artist.