Halal Keto Meal Plan: Ramadan Week 3. Adding Family Helps!

A Keto Muslim Mom
4 min readMay 19, 2019

So I’m starting to finally some (mental) relief since going keto, alhumdulilah (Praise be to Allah). This is my family’s third meal plan, which coincides with this new blog and the month of Ramadan. However, my keto journey started 10 days before Ramadan on Friday, April 26, 2019. So, I just finished my third week on keto.

I’m rushing a bit so, I’m putting on my tomato timer and see what I can whip up.

Keto Lessons Learned

From Week 3 of my keto journey.

  1. My keto-survival kit came in handy. It’s a baggy in my purse with travel sized bottles with olive oil, sesame oil, sea salt, a couple of Stevia packages. I needed rhe extra fat. However, I’m thinking of adding peanu butter, almond butter and coconut flour too. I’ll keep you posted.
  2. Getting hooked fat bomb experimentation. There are so many recipes that I use just to see the ingredients. I learned that using a full recipe is a waste because I have found that I don’t like it the end result more than half the time; even if the recipe maker used the words like “the best, delicious, tasty”, etc. So we usually mix and taste test our own. I’m trying to add more dairy and nuts instead, instead of the typical oils and nut butters.
  3. Having a household family member go keto is so much easier and fun! Rather than just soliciting family’s support and assistance having someone go keto with me isbso nuch better! My oldest is committed to going keto to lean out the body (fat lose, not to lose weight) and for clear skin. The commitment is throughout the fasting days of Ramadan and Shawwal as they are going through finals, so brain clarity and mental acuity would help now. Both on OMAD (One Day A Meal), we are experimenting fat bombs, researching and adapting recipes, reading up on the keto/low-carb lifestyle, and tracking macros. It is so much more fun now.
  4. I need to search HIGH-FAT not low-carb meals. I do not have problems making low carb meals. My problem is making it higher in fat so I do not have to resort to fat bombs. Adding more dairy should help here too.
  5. Backup quicky meals to the rescue. So as not to take away from gifts of iftaar (three times extended family delivered to is which was all dominated by rice, breads and potatoes which a little meat) I quickly whipped up anything I grew up with as a kid. My kids ate the meals, while I made Thai sardines eggs (pictuted above), eggplant sinigang, with various salads each with extra olive oil to cook and serve.
  6. I added vitamins and supplements. I have a perscribed multivitamin and Magnesium 500 mg. I always have my Omega-3 1650 mg x 2 (fish oil), and Ibruprofen 800 as a prophylactic or migraine/nerve pain killer. I added Potassium 600 mg (I’m experimenting with a minimum of 1200 mg up to 2400 mg, not to exceed 3,000 mg), and Vitamin B-complex 690 mg. I’m always licking and sprinkling sea salt.

Halal Meal Plan Ramadan Week 3

  • Meat stuffed bell peppers combining this recipe (I like cooking all at once and topping with mozzarella and feta(next recipe)) and this recipe (I like the spices in rhis one wirh putting feta half way). Pickled turnips (Arab style) and pickled cucumbers (Filipino style).
  • Ceasar’s salad topped with smoked salmon. Baked potatoes for the kids.
  • Tuna sinigang & Plain squash sinigang (Filipino). Sticky rice for the kids. Side of greens for me. Two different sinigangs because I have squash that is going bad and the kids are not always in rhe mood for one or the other, yet can be both at the same time. Odd but makes it fun.
  • Baked taco casserole (Mexican American) with coconut flour tortillas.
  • Gai pad king (Thai ginger chicken). Sticky rice for the kids. Possibly, cauliflower for all of us.
  • Take in or go out.
  • Leftover night.

Suhoor (Dawn meal before our fast) Meal Plan

  • Leftovers from iftaar (like a small lunchbox size serving)
  • Arab breakfast staples. This week we have freshly made goat feta, Arab cream cheese, American cream cheese, slices of cheddar cheese, slices of parmesan cheese, homemade yogurt (from farmed cow), hard boiled eggs, homemade olives (from our orchid), and freshly made radish, turnip and cucumber torshi (pickled).
  • Water and an odd number of tumar (dates) or non-caloric drink like diffused water, bone broth, tea, or coffee.

I always have water, but I’m licking sea salt too.

Okay…three minutes to go after 2 sessions of 25-minutes with my tomato timer. Yay!

Time to recite Qur’an in shaa Allah (God willing). I’m a little behind my juz (chapter) day readings because I had two excruciatingly painful days strapped to bed which whipped me out. But alhumdulilah I was abke to read both days, just not a full juz.

Please let me know what you think of this week’s meal plan. Will you try anything out? Have any suggestions to add for next week? I’d love to hear your input.

جزاك الله خيرا

Jazak Allahu khayrun for hanging out with me today.

May Allah bless you.

في امان الله

Fee amani Allah

[Leaving you] in the trust of Allah

--

--