The Imperfect Articles

Akhil Agrawal
The Imperfect Articles
3 min readSep 14, 2018

We all strive to become someone who is perfect, the best, the great at the things that we do or plan to do. We have already spent a fair amount of time striving for the same and most of us will continue until the very end of our life. But, the true magic lies in seeing the perfection in the imperfection.

Each imperfection is a perfection in itself ;-)

Whenever we plan out to do something we give it our best and hope something great to come out of it. Initially, we do feel that the piece we have created is something beautiful, something unique, something which people are gonna like, but soon we start to see the imperfections in it. We start to undervalue it and start to scrutinize our work. We find out ways to say about why that is not yet ready, talk about various improvements, etc, etc. And I am not saying that we should not do that. I am bringing up this topic because I have realised that amidst all this we get trapped in a never ending loop of trivial improvements.

Try not to lie to yourself next time ;-)

I have been planning to write a series of articles and have come up with some unique ideas. But I have yet not completed even one of them. Why? Because I think that I must give more time to them so that I can make them perfect. Something which everyone will value and something which will help people in some way or the other in the most optimal way possible. I always thought of reaching the global maxima. But guess what? There is no such global maxima. Also, there’s nothing wrong about it. But when I gave it a little thought about it recently, I came up with this idea of perfections in imperfections. Probably after reading it in one of the books or any online articles I have been reading lately.

If we are not going to change our attitude, we are never gonna publish any of those ideas, articles or short stories which we have always wanted to share with the world. We would never be able to write that dream book or be able to create the Youtube channel. We would never think yourself capable enough of joining the great company we have dreamt of, or we will never be able to step out of our comfort zone and work on the absurd start-up idea which we think has the capability to take over the world. This perfection attitude is responsible for the lag in our life. We need to leave this behind if we want to rise above the mediocre and actually do something rather than just thinking of doing something. Remember, there is no end or destination. The world is full of endless possibilities and hence it is absurd to chase the perfect destination. You will never reach there. Why? Because it does not exist.

There is nothing like a finish line in the real world.

True Happiness lies in the journey, the imperfect journey. Remember there is no finish line in the real world. You must just keep moving.

With this, I end here. And I am going to publish 10 imperfect articles each weekend from now. The topic of the first article is, “Being Sad is not so Sad”, which will be published on 22/09/2018. And I am gonna post them no matter they are perfect or not because I know that if I am gonna post them when they are perfect, then I am never gonna post any of them.

I urge you to add some imperfection in your life and to bear with mine.

Thank You.

Yours sincerely, The Imperfect.

--

--