The Best Writing Tip That You Should Never Forget

Akhiya Kumar
2 min readJan 1, 2024

--

As a writer, the first big obstacle I face quite frequently is coming up with an idea for the day. Consequently, I will build up on this idea with research, the degree of which variates with the topic and the seriousness of that topic. With creative pieces and personal insights, all that is needed is articulating my own experiences and worldviews in a way that can catch a reader’s attention. So, in short, I have all the answers within myself.

For topics like writing tips, lore of mythologies (a topic that I’m preparing myself to start writing about) there needs to be in depth research — accurate, practical and actional guides for the former; respectful and inclusive presentation of information for the latter. For topics like these, I am sharing the knowledge that I am actively learning in the present, as a result, expanding my mental horizon as well as trying to convince my readers to do the same.

Hence, the best solution for the lack of ideas that keeps a writer stuck and in the dark has been truly the simplest and the most obvious way that I’m stunned I didn’t think of this sooner.

Write about everything you consume.

Think about everything you do in a day. Let me paint the picture of how a day is typically spent in my life. I wake up and the first thing I do is listen to music. Well hey, here’s an idea, why don’t I write about music? Don’t scoff yet.

“According to the International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (IFPI), the average person listens to music for 20.1 hours a week. This is up from 18.4 hours in 2021.”

Music promotes social connectedness, leads to better learning, improves memory, lowers anxiety, decreases fatigue etc (more mentioned in healthline.com). So, why exclude it from writing prompts? Analyse a deeply emotional song as it is after all, at its core, poetry.

I watch at least two episodes of my comfort series everyday, why not write a review? Every other weekend, I watch a movie- why not analyse it? I try to read a book everyday, why not devise an appraisal after I finish it? I could even assess a single paragraph off the book that stood out to me and evaluate it. I journal at night before I sleep, why not take an excerpt out of an entry and turn it into something insightful for someone who might need it.

We spend so much time worrying ourself about writer’s block and feeling a void of emptiness that holds us back from our craft, when in truth, we are capable of taking an empty canvas and imagine the splash of paint across it that others can’t see. We are not painters, no. But much like them, we are also artists. We are even capable of taking our own sinking ships and turn that into a sensational spectacle for anyone that needs a reminder that they are not alone. So let’s take up our pens, open our minds and observe. Let’s pay attention to the world.

--

--

Akhiya Kumar

Living without imagination is a life in true seclusion. I write through the worlds I exist in within.