How I got a Full Time Remote Dev job as a Fresher

Akhlas Hussain
4 min readFeb 19, 2023

--

AI-Generated using Stable Diffusion

I will tell you how I got a full-time remote opportunity as a FullStack Developer but first let’s get some context first, I am from India and also from Tier-3 college and here we generally look out for campus placements and get placed at service-based companies as they do mass hiring but I wanted to work on the latest tech and by joining a Service Based company would mean that I won’t get to choose the tech I have to work on, their system’s nature is totally based on client requirements, you do what the client needs, it’s ok for some peps but for me, I want to go somewhere where there is growth and demand for the tech stack so it’s easier to switch.

Note: If you have college placements, secure a job first then lookout for better opportunities. I had an offer from a well known service based company and after securing that I started to prepare for offcampus.

I wanted to enter a company as a fresher where I would be able to learn and work on the latest tech and we all know JavaScript is here to stay 🔥. Now let’s start with some things that I did in my last year of college that helped me get the role.

1. Stop Thinking and Start Doing.

Most of us just think about wanting to learn new tech, learning React, Mongodb, Node.js, Next.js, etc. but most of the time we delay it indefinitely and do nothing in the end. Like they say “ Just by showing up every day will get the work 50% done” meaning if you even code a little or read articles about code every day, you are already a step closer to the goal.

2. How to learn?

If you are learning tech and not applying it, it won’t be useful. If there’s a tech you know, you need to show meaning you need projects to back up your knowledge with tech stacks, most companies who hire freshers don’t expect too much but they still expect the basics, keep in mind learning all the basics is not a small thing, it’s the basics that take more time. Still, if you want a number I would say if someone is coding every day religiously on a particular tech stack or tech, 3–4 Months would be enough to get a good grip on the basics.

For Example, My tech stack when I was learning was MERN (React, Node, Mongo, Express), and my current role is MEAN Stack Dev (Angular instead of React) I was selected based on the MERN stack because I had interesting projects and I had good basics, it did not take a lot of time for me to learn Angular because fundamentally React and Angular are similar.

If you want to start out with the basics of web dev, I have an article about ways to learn frontend development, do check it out. ↘️↘️↘️↘️

3. How to Apply?

The two places that I would recommend are :

  1. LinkedIn: It is really good but, one thing that you really need to do will be actively applying, sometimes it’s luck but I would say when you do something many times, one sometimes will also come for you. You need to be persistent if you know your Resume and Portfolio are good and if still, you are not receiving callbacks don’t lose hope, keep it up for the good work so far and keep climbing.

For Reference, in my final year, I applied to 197 companies and got callbacks from almost 5–7, interviewed for 5 of them, and got offers from 3 of them. Maybe for you, the number could be way less than mine.

2. Wellfound (Angelist): Also good, I got my internship offer from here, many startups hire here so it’s good to look for internship opportunities here and apply.

4. Remember the Grind.

Remember why you are doing it, for me, it’s freedom in the form of money. Most people won’t lay down their most powerful driving force and be honest with themselves and will instead go with “I want to become better at Software Engineering” or “I want to become a great Software Engineer”.

Stay true to WHAT you want and WHY you want it. The HOW will come by itself.

“Grind” generated using AI

If there’s anything you guys want me to write or write a specific blog on a topic, comment below. I will write more blogs on the same. Thanks for the read ✌️

Until next time …

--

--

Akhlas Hussain

FullStack Dev , I write tech, productivity, self-improvement etc. Connect with me : https://twitter.com/akhlas_hussain