The Resume that got me a Remote Dev Job

Akhlas Hussain
4 min readSep 18, 2023

--

AI-generated Image using stable diffusion

Hey there, let me introduce myself first. I am a B.Tech (CSE) graduate and as a fresher, I have given many interviews for roles like frontend, backend, and full stack. Here is the resume that helped me to get a callback and start the interviews.

Let’s start with the full picture first and then I will explain each part’s significance and how you can craft each word of this resume to work for you and make you stand out from the rest. Also in the end, I will also attach the link to this resume template so you can use it to make your own.

Here’s the full picture ↘️

Full Picture

1. The Heading

I would suggest just sticking with Name, Mobile number, Email, and Important links (Github, Linkedin, Portfolio)(Make sure they are clickable). Don’t worry if you don’t have a portfolio website, GitHub will do just fine. Don’t use your images in your resume, the recruiter doesn’t care how you look and ATS does have problems with images so images are a no-go.

2. The Experience

The Experience

Remember to fill in the points about what impact you created, writing about how you worked on a certain tech stack will come at the end of the experience. Focus on the impact, what did you change, and what did you make better. Notice that I am using bold words to show the important things.

Start with action keywords like “Implemented, Migrated, Imporved” and end with the impact part.

Try writing about actual development experience, if you have done other non-development internships or jobs, try not to include them or just don’t keep them at the focus, try to show the more “relevant” experience for the role you are applying to and keep the focus on it. Keeping the focus means writing more about it. I did 2 internships but I kept the shorter one on the top as it’s more relevant to the full stack role I was trying to apply to.

3. THE PERSONAL PROJECTS

The personal Projects

This was the holy grail of my resume, whatever I did when I was learning and building projects I wrote it all down and later talked about it for 50% of the interview.

Basically, I describe the features and utilities that I integrated into the app using what technology. I would suggest you write as much as you can about your personal projects and ensure everything that you write is concise and to the point.

Having internship experience is good but I think I learned the most when I was working on my personal projects.

4. Technical Skills

The Technical Skills

Try to limit these to the things that you can answer any good question on and that too on the spot. The interviewer can try to ask an intermediate question based on these always keep that in mind.

The skills which I was not so confident in at that time, I added them in “Familiar with”.

5. The EXTRA Activities

The Extra Activities

If you have participated and achieved a rank in some competition show it here, I think this section can also be skipped but if you have some good ranks, showing them would also help in the process.

Remember to keep everything technical, if it’s not a technical achievement then it will be better not to add it as it won’t hold any value and the recruiter might think you are just trying to fill the resume.

Here’s the resume template that I use, you can check the source code and also there’s a Word version that I have created (open it in Google Docs) it’s easy you just have to change the text and the rest is self-explanatory. If you want it to look exactly like mine then I would suggest you use the overleaf version. (Check YT on how to upload and edit Overleaf templates)

Link : https://darkfaze.gumroad.com/l/yiajw

Hope you learned something new from me, if there are any queries drop a comment below and I will reach out to you.

See you next time …

AI-generated image using stable diffusion

--

--

Akhlas Hussain

FullStack Dev , I write tech, productivity, self-improvement etc. Connect with me : https://twitter.com/akhlas_hussain