Curiosity Kills Me As Much As Knowing Too Much

Author A.H.C
1 min readJun 27, 2024

--

Photo by 胡 卓亨 on Unsplash

I’m the type of person who is too curious for my own good, doing reckless things just to find out about something, only to get hurt when I learn too much. When I get curious and interested in something, I can’t help but try to find out, no matter the circumstances. I love discovering. But this time, I think some things are better left unknown. Maybe it’s not the act of knowing too much that hurts, but rather the cruel reality that comes with it.

While I’m curious, I have expectations, hopes, and lingering “what ifs.” But once I actually find out, my expectations are often met with disappointment. Most of the time, it hurts. Yet I still can’t resist the urge to satisfy my curiosity. I feel like I need to know everything because being clueless terrifies me. I want to know the truth, but I fear the truth will disappoint me.

But I guess it’s okay, as long as I know the truth. I just hope that one day, I’ll stop being so curious about certain people and certain information that might shatter my soul.

--

--