Even women in their 20s want to drink! Alcohol from Tunisia, a Muslim country!

AKITOMO YAMAKAMI
6 min readMay 8, 2024

Do you like alcohol? I don’t drink much, but sometimes I feel the urge to drink.

I will introduce alcoholic beverages produced in Tunisia, a Muslim country that prohibits alcohol by precepts.

Can Muslims drink alcohol?

What idea do you have of Muslims? Before coming to Tunisia, I thought Muslim precepts were the strictest in the world. Below is a brief list of Islamic prohibitions.

・Muslims should not eat pork

・Muslims should not drink alcohol

・Muslim women should not expose their skin

・Muslims should not eat or drink anything from sunrise to sunset during Ramadan

Don’t you think this is a very strict precept? Especially during Ramadan, I’m not sure I can survive it.

“With such strict precepts, there’s no reason it’s okay to drink alcohol.”

I thought so too. But here in Tunisia, it seems different.

“I’m Muslim, but I drink alcohol occasionally. Some restaurants in the city serve it.”

My friend, a Tunisian woman, says so. I once had a beer with her at a bar on Habib Bourguiba Street. Alcohol is only served indoors at the bar, but the waiter didn’t look particularly suspicious when my friend was going to have a beer.

--

--