“Mario Kart 64”, I’ve played the most in the Mario Kart series

AKITOMO YAMAKAMI
8 min readAug 31, 2024

If you’ve ever played a racing game, you’ve probably played the Mario Kart series at least once.

It started with “Super Mario Kart” on the Super Nintendo, then “Mario Kart 64” on the Nintendo 64, and was made for home consoles such as the GameCube and Wii. And finally, it has made its way to portable consoles from the DS to the Switch. It is a popular series that users have loved for about 30 years.

I was born in 1987, so I have never played any Mario Kart series since the DS. The one I played the most was “Mario Kart 64.” I also liked “Super Mario Kart” on the Super Nintendo but wasn’t passionate about it because the data would be erased often.

In this article, I will write about “Mario Kart 64,” the game in the Mario Kart series I have played the most.

Mario Kart 64

Released in December 1996, this is one of the most representative early titles for the NINTENDO64. It’s a hot title packed with addictive elements, including “Grand Prix,” a race with eight cars, “Versus” and “Battle,” which can be played by up to four people, and “Time Trial,” which can be played by a single player. This time, I’ll be writing about “Time Trial.”

“Time Trial” mode

In “Time Trial”, players compete for the fastest total time by completing three laps with only one car. The obstacles on the course are the same as in the “Grand Prix”, and up to three…

--

--