Was Montreal in Canada “a place where there are no Japanese”?

AKITOMO YAMAKAMI
2 min readJul 5, 2024

Looking back and summarizing my stay in Montreal, Canada

I stayed in Montreal for four months (from January 2022 to May 2022). I went to many tourist spots and restaurants. Did I have any contact with Japanese people during that time?

During my stay in Montreal, Canada, the number of Japanese people saw was “2 groups”

I visited many tourist spots and restaurants but I never contacted Japanese people.

But the number of Japanese people I saw was “2 groups”.

The first group was at Marc-Favreau Public Library. I saw a group of Japanese people, probably a mother and her child. I could hear them speaking Japanese, so I could tell they were Japanese.

The second group was at Jean-Talon Station. There were two groups of mothers and their children. I could hear them speaking Japanese, so I could tell they were Japanese. They might be a family staying in Montreal because of the husband’s work.

Some locals have Japanese friends

Although I have never met the Japanese in person, there is a person who has Japanese friends here in the Montreal area. That person is…

--

--