This is why I’m restarting my Medium.com blog

Ákos Kőműves
2 min readApr 11, 2023
Photo by Tim Foster on Unsplash

It’s been almost ten years since I wrote my first story on Medium.com.

It started as a tech blog, but we parted ways because of my work and because I didn’t know how to write.

In 2022 I wrote a ridiculous amount of stuff — more than ever before, and this year isn’t going to be different.

It all started by going heavy on Twitter, my tech blog, and recently on my newsletter.

I also learned a lot about marketing, businesses, and, most importantly, people.

Here are a few key things I’d like to highlight that inspired giving Medium.com another chance:

If you’re not paying for it, you’re the product.

There are some really, really good free platforms for bloggers. And now, if we disregard the tech giants that can offer anything for free, we have left with companies that, at some point, somehow will make money off of you. This is cool unless it promotes the commoditization of your services. For example, imagine a marketplace where writers of a free platform could bid for tech writer gigs.

Medium’s approach is different:

Spend money to make money

I learned this shortly after I hired my first employee. You sending a paycheck to someone else, even if you do it for the tenth time, is always fulfilling. On Medium, with the Member subscription, we spend money to support writers we love to read, and this is brilliant.

I don’t like boxes

I have loads of interest. Although I make most of my income by writing software, I lift, ride my road bike (I even raced at some point), do archery, and, lately, knife-throwing. I love swimming and would probably still be running marathons and half-marathons if I hadn’t had an Achilles injury in 2017.

I love reading about business, marketing, philosophy, fitness, and sometimes tech. Medium is a platform that gives a home to vastly different content.

Bonus: I like Medium’s official statement on using AI-assisted technologies on the platform: https://blog.medium.com/how-were-approaching-ai-generated-writing-on-medium-16ee8cb3bc89

There are downsides to this platform as well, but knowing they have a sustainable business and paying creators is part of that business is a huge deal.

Welcome to Medium.com.

Thank you for spending the time on my blog. I truly appreciate it.

Until next time,

Akos

--

--

Ákos Kőműves

I write to make sense of things. ✦ I also read, exercise and build things for the web. Join me at https://akoskm.substack.com/