How to make addons / mods for Minecraft Bedrock?

Akrit Ghimire
4 min readMar 11, 2022

--

We’ve all reached it at some point where we wonder, is there more we can do with Minecraft? Could we code our ideas into this awesome game? The answer is yes and yes!

Making addons is simple once you know what to do, all it takes is a bit of copy and pasting, a splash of pixel editing here and there and some ounces of your imagination and voila, a mod that makes the game more interesting for you to play.

When I was learning to make addons, I found it really difficult as there were really limited materials online to fully explain what the hell I was doing. That’s why I’ve decided to share with you all the knowledge I’ve accumulated over the last week, so that you too can have even more fun with Minecraft.

This tutorial works currently (11/03/22) however significant changes in the future may make this tutorial redundant. Should that be the case please comment or contact me and I’ll see what I can update for you!

Prerequisites :

  1. You need some copy of the game to play and test out your addon, whether that be PC, Pocket Edition (I think) or Xbox/PS4. Otherwise you are shooting blind when it comes to making an addon.
  2. No you don’t need to know how to code but a basic understanding of JavaScript will be really helpful as most of the editing is within Json objects.
  3. A method to access files withing your Xbox or PS4 (as these versions are harder to add mods to, Pocket Edition and PC players don’t have these troubles)

In this article I’m merely going to get you set up with mod/addon development. In other words, I’m going to tell you what software/apps you should have at the ready, so let’s begin.

Links to specific tutorials are down below the steps.

Step 1: Download Minecraft Bridge

Bridge is an IDE that makes making bedrock addons fast. It auto fills a whole bunch of stuff that makes it really easy to customise and create addons. You can use the web browser editor however I prefer downloading bridge but that’s just my personal preference.

Link: https://bridge-core.app/

This is Minecraft Bridge’s website!

Step 2: Download Block Bench

Block Bench is an amazing tool to create custom mobs, entities and geometric blocks. It is essentially 3d software that can be used to create models that can be imported into the game. This too has a web browser editor but I prefer downloading this software as well.

Link: https://www.blockbench.net/

This is Block Bench’s website!

Step 3: Bookmark Piskel

Piskel is a free online pixel art editor/ maker and since Minecraft is pretty much a pixel style game, it’s a good idea to make addons with pixel style graphics so they fit in more subtly. Just click ‘Create Sprite’ to start work on your next pixel art creation.

Link: https://www.piskelapp.com/

This is Piskel’s website!

Step 4: Bookmark Bedrock.dev

Lastly, make sure to bookmark the website Bedrock.dev. This website is essentially a cheat sheet to all things Minecraft Addon making related. On your journey to making lots and lots of addons, you will find yourself refer to this website time and time again (just like I have)!

Link: https://bedrock.dev/

This is the Bedrock.dev website

Now time for the fun part. Click on the links below to different articles I have written to learn how to make the corresponding addons as the titles say:

Thank you for reading and I hope I was the help to you that I wish I had when I started learning how to do this cool thing. I will be updating this article to house all the different tutorials I end up making. Till then Cya!!!

--

--

Akrit Ghimire

I’m a writer. I don’t have a niche. I just write. Like my work?