How to make custom crafting recipes for Minecraft Bedrock (addons)?

Akrit Ghimire
3 min readMar 12, 2022

--

In this Tutorial you will learn how to make a crafting recipe for my ‘Night Stone’ I made in the previous Tutorial. It’s super simple but you need a basic understanding of the software we are using so check out quick YouTube videos on this topic before following this Tutorial so you don’t get too confused.

Make sure you’ve read these articles first before following this Tutorial:

Let’s get started.

First of all open up Bridge, I’ve made a new item called a ‘Gem Shard’ which will be used to craft other ‘Gem Stones’. It’s a simple item with little functionality, except if you click it you will unleash poison for a radius of 50 blocks!

Click on the 3 vertical dots and click on new file. Then search for ‘Recipe’ and enter in the details required. Call the file name the same as the item that you will craft. Make sure to select a shaped recipe as well. Now click create.

You should see a screen like this. Change the format version to 1.12 and add the tag ‘crafting_table’.

Upon load.
Edit these sections. Make sure the ‘tags’: has square brackets not curly brackets.

Next include the ‘pattern’ and ‘key’ headings. The pattern will create the crafting recipe eg. how you need to place items to craft a diamond sword. Only use single letters and no spaces for this section. Each row can only have 3 letters. There can only ever be 3 rows.

The ‘key’ section is what lets Minecraft know what the letters you chose in the ‘pattern’ section represent. Here I've chosen ‘s’ to be my custom item I created and ‘m’ to be a phantom membrane.

The last section ‘result’ is what tells Minecraft what this crafting recipe will create. I’ve set the item to my custom item called ‘Night Stone’ and the count to 1. The count just means how much of the item to give. Just add the data bit, I’m not sure what it does!

That’s it, you’ve now created your own crafting recipe. You can change this to make any item you want using any combination of items as well. Just export your addon and you shall see this recipe when you open up the crafting table in survival. Check out the article at the very top of this page as it links to other Tutorials I have made on Minecraft Bedrock Addon making. Bye!

--

--

Akrit Ghimire

I'm a Computer Science Student at the Uni of Edinburgh. My passion is Robotics, but I can code a lot of other things too.