Making Mutants | Minecraft Bedrock Custom Mobs Tutorial | Part 1

Akrit Ghimire
5 min readApr 30, 2022

--

In this tutorial, I will reveal the current way I make Minecraft Mobs for bedrock as there are not a lot of helpful tutorials on the internet, just a whole bunch of documentation that can seem quite overwhelming.

This is a three part tutorial: Setup, Modelling, Scripting
Part 1 is below. Part 2 and 3 are linked right here:

Link to part 2:

Link to part 3:

What you will need?

  1. Blockbench — A free software for designing mobs (among other things) | Link: https://www.blockbench.net/
  2. Minecraft Bridge — An IDE with useful predictive features that save you time having to look at the Minecraft Bedrock Docs. | Link: https://bridge-core.app/
  3. Windows machine — I do not use a Mac so I have no idea how similar or different this tutorial will be so let me know in the comments.

Get Started

Open up Blockbench and navigate to the plugins menu. This is found by following this path. Click: ‘File’ > ‘Plugins…’

Make sure you are on the ‘Available’ tab and search for the ‘Minecraft Entity Wizard’ if it is not shown at the top. Install this.

My screen may look different to yours as I am using the downloaded version instead of the web app on the browser.

Now it should install correctly (if not, what the hell did you do????). You should be greeted with this yellow banner with a bee icon at the very top of your main menu screen. If you don’t see it, close Blockbench and open it up again. Now click the bee.

Now a pop up should appear, click the ‘Lets go’ button to get to this screen. You must now name your fabled mob. I recommend that you put your identifier as a lowercase version of your name with no spaces. It must follow this format. The name can have spaces but not in the identifier.

Name: your name
Identifier: yourname:yourname

Now click ‘Next’ to choose the base vanilla mob your custom mob will steal it’s powers from. For example, if you want to make a giant spider, PICK THE SPIDER. If you want to make a Mutant Creeper, DO NOT PICK A PANDA AS YOUR BASE MOB!!!

For this tutorial, I’m making a Mutant Zombie so I will choose the zombie as my base mob.

After you have selected a mob, click ‘Next’ you will move onto the ‘Behaviour’ tab. Make sure you have the ‘Same Behaviour’ option selected. (Unless you are an advanced mob maker and know what you are doing)

Then click ‘Next’.

You are now able to design the spawn egg you will see in the creative menu. I recommend you choose the two colours and be done with it. I have no intention of straying away from the default egg appearance so you can experiment with custom textures if you want!

As I am making a Mutant Zombie I will choose the colours recognisable to the mob because eggs can get lost in the creative menu, especially if you make a lot of custom mobs. So choose wisely or it’ll take you time finding the mob spawn egg in game.

Okay, we’re now onto the difficult bit. Many things can go wrong if you don’t pay attention to what I say, so read this section twice before attempting the step.

Background. I do not own Minecraft on the PC, only on XBOX, hence why I’m making mobs for Bedrock not Java. Therefore, this next step is done in a slightly laborious way.

Go ahead and fill out all the normal details it requires. Pack name, just title this as your mob name. Pack author, just put my name, just kidding, this is where you put your name/group name. Then choose a png/jpg image for the pack icon. I use the same one over and over because I’m lazy.

Now select the ‘Export as MCAddon’ option.
Now click the ‘Export’ button.

It’s now going to open up the native file explorer and ask you to save the MCAddon. MAKE SURE YOU SAVE IT IN A PLACE YOU REMEMBER AND CAN ACTUALLY ACCESS!!!

Now you are all set to follow along in the next part of this tutorial, the modelling tutorial. Click the link down below to follow that tutorial and be a step closer to making your brilliant mob.

Any questions, comments of my brilliance or appreciation for an easy to follow tutorial, let me know down in the comments!

--

--

Akrit Ghimire

I'm a Computer Science Student at the Uni of Edinburgh. My passion is Robotics, but I can code a lot of other things too.