How to launch an EC2 instance and an EBS volume, and then attach the volume to the instance using the AWS Command Line Interface (CLI).

Akshatjain
2 min readJul 4, 2023

--

Hey everyone,

🚀 I’m excited to share that I successfully launched an EC2 instance and attached an EBS volume on AWS using the AWS Command Line Interface (CLI)!

🔹 The EC2 instance provides me with flexible and scalable computing power in the cloud. With a wide range of instance types and configurations available, I can easily select the most suitable option based on my specific requirements.

🔹 The EBS volume, known as Elastic Block Store, offers persistent block-level storage for my EC2 instance. It allows me to store data separately from the instance itself, ensuring data durability even if the instance is terminated.

✨ The AWS CLI streamlined the entire process, making it efficient and hassle-free. Following a few simple steps, I successfully launched the instance, created the EBS volume, and seamlessly attached it to my instance. The CLI’s versatility and automation capabilities saved me valuable time and effort.

Here’s a brief overview of the steps I followed:

1️⃣ I installed and configured the AWS CLI on my local machine.
2️⃣ Using the CLI, I launched an EC2 instance by specifying the desired instance type, AMI ID, security groups, and other relevant parameters.
3️⃣ To identify the instance, I retrieved its ID using the `describe-instances` command.
4️⃣ Next, I created an EBS volume, specifying the required size, availability zone, and other necessary details.
5️⃣ I obtained the volume ID of the newly created volume using the `describe-volumes` command.
6️⃣ Finally, I attached the EBS volume to my EC2 instance utilizing the `attach-volume` command.

By leveraging the power of AWS and the simplicity of the CLI, I now have a highly scalable and reliable infrastructure to support my applications.

Feel free to ask any questions or share your own experiences with AWS!

--

--